A mother’s love and an open heart

29 Apr

Mother’s Day is only one week away. This is one holiday that is always celebrated with balloons and cake in my home. My mom’s birthday falls very close to Mother’s Day every year, so we usually tie the two together and make it a birthday/Mother’s Day celebration. My mom always says that she’d rather celebrate the “Mother” part of the celebration more than the “Birth” part, though I feel that both deserve to be acknowledged.

Growing up, my mom was a stay-at-home mom. This was her choice, and although she has never actually said that “it was a sacrifice”, I feel that she sacrificed a lot for us. Read: She would take my sisters and I on various shopping trips throughout the year, but I cannot remember many times when she took us shopping so she could look around  for herself… By the time she sat down at the dinner table, her food was cold; she always made sure the family was situated first… She shuttled my sisters and I around so much that the side of our van might as well have read “TAXI,” in big yellow letters. And I could go on.

Yes, I would be the smarty pants oldest child sticking my tongue out

I know that I am truly blessed to have my mom in my life. She has been there to care for, support, and help me through the rougher patches of growing up, including the not-so-fun parts of being a girl. I do know, however, that I should not take this for granted.

Clever Girls Collective is currently partnered with Macy’s Heart of Haiti project. After the devastating January 2010 earthquake, it has not been easy for Haitians to make a living. This project allows shoppers like us to purchase handcrafted masterpieces, created by the master artisans of Haiti themselves.  You can view the Shop for a Better World / Heart Of Haiti collection in it’s entirety (including just added items for Spring), here: http://bit.ly/gaalFP , but these are just a few of my favorites:

Heart of Haiti Vase, $54.00

Heart of Haiti Pendant: Open Heart of the Goddess, $10.00

Heart of Haiti Bowl- Watermelon, $9.97

As a special treat, if you purchase a Heart of Haiti or Rwanda Path to Peace product from May 3 to May 8, you will receive a 15% discount. Just use the Promocode: CLEVERGIRLS.

When I think about how much my mom has helped me through the tougher times in my life, I realize how insignificant my definition of “tough” is. While these works of art will make great Mother’s Day gifts for the wonderful women in our lives, our purchases will make a difference in the lives of those who have survived things we can probably not even fathom.

We have the power to make a difference; today, let’s open our hearts.

Mother’s Day is not only for “Mom”. Who else in your life deserves to be acknowledged?

What is your favorite Heart of Haiti piece?

I was selected for this very special “CleverHaiti” opportunity by Clever Girls Collective, which endorses Blog With Integrity. All opinions are my own.

2 Responses to “A mother’s love and an open heart”

  1. Jess April 29, 2011 at 4:45 pm #

    Those are beautiful!

  2. Marsha May 20, 2011 at 6:28 pm #

    My mom’s birthday is close to mother’s day also, we celebrate them together also. I love the photo of you with your mom and sisters. Classic!
    Thank you for supporting the mothers and artisans with Heart of Haiti.I work at Everywhere and we’re a member of the team that helps promote Macy’s Heart of Haiti.

    @heartofhaiti
    http://www.facebook.com/heartofhaiti

    Marsha Whitehead
    @marshawhitehead

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers

