In with the new

5 May

I am ONE day away from being a college graduate (minus the commencement ceremony- that’s a week from Sunday)! Thank you all so much for your support and well wishes; I am sure you will be excited to read about something other than homework and group projects for a change ;)!

Yesterday’s finals left my brain pretty fried, and although I still have one more to study for, I have been daydreaming of all the things I want to/need to/wish I could do once classes and homework are out of my life. Since there is really no better way to validate these daydreams than by writing a blog post about them, I thought, instead of making a list of goals for May, I would make a list of things I want to accomplish post-graduation.  Some of these things I really need to do, and others, well, they will help me relieve some of that “I just studied my life away for five years” stress :).

Goals for May After Graduation

1. Get a haircut. I finally made just made the appointment for this; I am treating myself to a clarifying treatment and a cut next Friday :)

2. Clean my room. Seriously, it needs a major scrub down.

For the record, those clothes are clean (I did laundry two days ago- promise I’m not that gross!), and yes, I do have three Easter baskets just sitting on my floor. And I can’t believe I’m showing you this picture.

3. Sell and send back books. I rented half of my books, and bought the other half. As soon as I can get those dust collectors things off of my hands, I will.

4. Read a book books for fun. Okay, I feel like I’ve said this a million times, but this time I mean it.  I really want to start by reading The Happiness Project, for Caitlin’s blogger book club!

5. Shave my legs and pluck my eyebrows. Wait, did I just type that? Here’s the thing, the last thing I want to do is spend extra time in the bathroom when I know I have better things studying to do. Lucky for me, we haven’t had shorts/skirt/dress weather this week.

6. Clean out my closest. See #2

7. Update the blog. Since I will no longer be “a twenty-something college student finishing up my degree in Communication Studies,” I am going to change my blog to reflect the changes in my life. I don’t plan to do anything too drastic, just enough to show that I have time to dedicate to blogging again :).

8. Find a job. This kind of goes without saying. Next week my full-time job will be job searching.

9. Play guitar. I use to play guitar. I have a guitar. I just haven’t used it in a long time. This should change.

10. Go on vacation

(Hawaii, perhaps?)

Well, a girl can dream…

Since I’m making changes, is there anything you’d like to see on my blog?

What are your summer goals/plans?

6 Responses to “In with the new”

  1. runyogarepeat May 5, 2011 at 7:44 pm #

    Yayyy you’re SO close to finishing! I’d just love to see your job hunt process and your transition out of college.

  2. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) May 5, 2011 at 10:04 pm #

    YAY soo close. That is super exciting. I actually really need to pluck my eyebrows as well. Eyebrows are seriously big deal ha.

  3. Brittany May 6, 2011 at 9:25 pm #

    Once i’m settled in Austin, i want to take guitar lessons & photography classes! So much fun to be had when you’re not studying anymore!!!! Proud of you! xoxo

  4. megpinkgiggles May 7, 2011 at 12:23 am #

    I’m reading the happiness project right now!

  5. Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots May 9, 2011 at 11:43 pm #

    ahhhh i am so jealous of your nearly-graduate status. Actually, part of me is dreading the whole graduating and getting old thing, but not having more school might be a nice little change ;)

    I def did a crazy clean sweep this weekend! :)
    <3
    n

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers

