Change is a funny thing

11 May

Some changes, we ache for.

For a red light to change,

(Source)

for a season to change,

(Source)

 for a grade to change.

(Source)

With others, we’re more reluctant:

A big move,

(Source)

a new haircut,

(Source)

a career change.

(Source)

The thing is, if we spend so much time waiting for change, worrying about the next transition in life, are we really living?

While chatting with my family and neighbors today, my neighbor congratulated me on my new “graduate” status, and joked that she’s glad that she won’t have to read my “I can’t wait until I’m done with school” Facebook statuses anymore. Before I could reply, my mom chimed in with, “Well, now she misses school and is upset about not having a job yet” (I may or may not have had a slight emotional breakdown in the middle of dinner). My neighbor just nodded in understanding, saying, “I guess we’re never happy with where we are in life.”

That last sentence really makes me think. Are we ever really truly, 100% happy with what we have, or are we always thinking about what is going to happen next? We want things to change, but when they finally begin to change, we don’t want it anymore. And when I say “we”, I mean me (or, being grammatically correct, I).

For me, graduating from college is more difficult than graduating from high school. My future is wide open. I am no longer a child, but not quite a “grown up.” I am over-emotional; I am confused; I am nostalgic.

I don’t know exactly what it is that I am afraid of. Perhaps what I am most afraid of is the unknown.  Although I can dream and think and plan as much as I want, I know that my future is not likely to turn out the way I think it will.

Because, if I was able to predict my future correctly, I would currently be on summer break from Purdue, getting ready to enter my last year of pharmacy school, and dating my high school boyfriend.

Although I can resist it as much as I want, it’s inevitable. Things change.

(Source)

And it must be for the better. Right?

How do you deal with change?

Do you enjoy transitions in life?

15 Responses to “Change is a funny thing”

  1. Jess May 11, 2011 at 11:29 pm #

    I HATE change and am dreading graduation. I’m happy where I am.
    I completely know how you feel, but try your best to relax about the job thing— things will work out, it is just tough right after graduation! :)

  2. Laura @ LauraLikesDesign May 12, 2011 at 7:24 am #

    This was a great reminder, thanks for posting!

  3. runyogarepeat May 12, 2011 at 8:02 am #

    You are so right about change, it happens, and the best thing to do is just go with it. For me, the hardest part is admitting to myself that something is changing because I never know if the change will be good or bad. I enjoy transitions, but they can be scary sometimes when I don’t have the future exactly planned out.

  4. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) May 12, 2011 at 8:15 am #

    You are right. I’m never happy with any part of my life and constantly thinking about what would happen if I was in another part of it. One of my goals is to really take full advantage of living in the now.

  5. Ada May 12, 2011 at 8:39 am #

    Graduating college can definitely be tough to deal with. On one hand it’s exciting to be out in the real world, but on the other you’re no longer safe within the realm of academia. You should feel so proud of yourself, though! Graduating college is a huge deal!

  6. Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots May 12, 2011 at 6:15 pm #

    This is beautiful… Honestly, I’m enough of a trouble-borrower that i’m already worrying about the change of graduating in two years lol. And the fact that I dont’ knwo what I want to do and what direction i’m headed is absolutely killing me!!!
    Great post
    <3
    n

  7. Sara @ The Foodie Diaries May 13, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

    For me, change is like an addiction. I love change, I love moving, I love trying new things. But I’m always craving more change. I love having things to look forward to. Sometimes change is bad though. I had to deal with saying goodbye to college this April and it was tough. I can’t imagine not going back to Florida State in the fall. But this change (as much as I hated growing up and graduating) also led to something good. I have a job offer right out of college and I couldn’t be more excited to move to Rhode Island and start fresh! :)

  8. Brittany May 13, 2011 at 5:03 pm #

    Change is a good thing! It can be definitely scary! But it can so be a good thing! The real world is scary! I graduated from LPN school 4 months ago, and i still don’t have a job to show for it!!!!!! But the job will come, i know it!

  9. megpinkgiggles May 13, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

    I remember the summer after I graduated university as the most difficult summer. I had no idea what I was going go do, and I was sick of people asking abou it. But keep your chin up, there’s nothing to fear :)

  10. Kelly May 22, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

    New reader! Just thought I would comment because I know the exact feeling you are going through! I graduated from college a year ago, and luckily have a full time job…That I still don’t feel grown enough for! It’s a weird time in life, but I can assure you that things fall into place. Good luck with your future endeavors!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 101 other followers

