Constructive criticism

23 May

Last night, while watching TV with my sister and Jordan, my blog somehow came up in conversation. I don’t always enjoy talking about my blog with my “real life” friends and family. I kind of prefer to keep the two worlds separate. So when my sister, being the little sister that she is, decided to give my blog some “constructive criticism,” I wasn’t really feeling it. AKA, I took it personally.

She suggested that I change the layout and background, making it “not so boring.” I actually kind of agree with this, and will be getting around to it at some point. Then she told me that she doesn’t understand the title of my blog, and Jordan admitted that he doesn’t either. This is what bothered me. If they don’t understand the title, then I had to freak out wonder, how many readers don’t understand the title?

After having a “Oh gosh, how long will it take me to change my title/What should I call it now?” moment, I fell asleep on the couch at 9:30 watching aforementioned TV decided it might just be easier to explain the title (if only to make myself feel better).

So, I found a short (and also kind of cheesy, bear with me) video, that does the explaining for me. It’s crazy how YouTube has an explanation for almost anything.

My message is, striving for perfection does not equal striving for happiness. Or, for short, perfection isn’t happy.

(Source)

Now that I’ve cleared that up, I feel a little better. I’ll get to the “boring layout and background problem” later ;).

5 Responses to “Constructive criticism”

  1. loftyappetite May 23, 2011 at 9:13 am #

    This happened to me the other day! I changed my layout and my bf disapproved saying it’s not professional… I was annoyed because it’s not suppose to be professional. It’s suppose to be fun and reflect the non professonal side of me. It’s where I go to not be professionial for at least 5 minutes of my day. I’m not trying to get a job. So I got all defensive until he said “okay it’s fine.” I agree, its sometimes better to keep blog life and real life separate. Though for me it might be too late!

  2. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) May 23, 2011 at 12:56 pm #

    I don’t care to chat about my blog too much to the real world. I do sometimes, but I don’t make a habit of bringing it up. Why bother.

  3. Laura @ LauraLikesDesign May 24, 2011 at 8:28 am #

    I’m weird about telling others about my blog too!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 99 other followers

