Everything changes

27 May

Today, my youngest sister graduates from high school. I don’t know what is stranger- the fact that I am now in the “adult world”, or the fact that my sister, whom I still see as five years old, is leaving home and heading off to college in just a few months.

The old days…(actually, 2007)

It’s a bittersweet day, but I guess she has to grow up sometime ;).

Since I knew that I would be busy tonight with a celebration dinner and the graduation itself, I got up pretty early this morning. Breakfast has already been made and eaten.

Oatmeal- perfect for this 55 degree May day

And I will soon be on my way to the gym, because I want to get in a workout before my lunch plans today. I am meeting my fifth grade neighbors (twins) for lunch at their school. I have lived next door to them their whole life (which they still find hard to believe :)), and today is their last day of elementary school. One of them gave me an earful over the weekend about how I shouldn’t have a boyfriend because I never spend time with them anymore. That is not why I am meeting them for lunch (I would want to anyway!), but it made me remember that kids really are perceptive of change, of people growing up. One day they, too, will realize that playing on the backyard swing set is quite different when you are 22, compared to when you are 11 :).

Ah, reality…

(Source)

Well, I must get to the gym before I lose my motivation. Enjoy your Friday :). And, Happy Graduation Day, Sister. I’m proud of you :)!

When did you realize that you were “growing up”?

Are you celebrating any milestones this spring/summer?

9 Responses to “Everything changes”

  1. sara @ the foodie diaries May 27, 2011 at 12:47 pm #

    It still doesn’t hit me that I’m growing up. I’ve graduated college and start my “real life” job in September, and it STILL hasn’t hit me. When my sister went off to college it was so weird, she’s always been the baby of the family!

  2. Laura @ LauraLikesDesign May 27, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

    What a cute pic of you guys! :D

    I knew I was growing up when I felt so proud of myself when I switched car insurance providers and saved money…haha!

    One of the big milestones coming up is my wedding this Fall!

  3. yourdailygrace May 27, 2011 at 2:55 pm #

    My brother is graduating today-it seems so weird! So did a long time friend who is younger than me and it just makes me feel so old! I’m not sure when I realized I was growing up , I’ve always been a lot more mature than others my age but I would say this year living in my own apartment and having an internship really changed me. It is so nervous to be so close to the adult world, I’m not quite ready for it yet:)

  4. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) May 27, 2011 at 5:22 pm #

    I’ll be 21 this summer which I’m super pumped about. My brother just turned 18 and is graduating high school and my mom is turning 50. Wow, I just realized all the celebrations.

  5. Jess May 27, 2011 at 6:50 pm #

    Congratulations to your sister!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers

