Pizza and beer

18 Jun

After yesterday’s surgery consultation, and an afternoon that just seemed to fly by, Jordan and I had a relaxing evening at home- swimming, cooking, and watching The Glee Project (my newfound guilty pleasure). We rarely make dinner together, because, well, we both still live at home and sometimes it’s hard to squeeze through four other family members to get to the kitchen counter or oven, and usually the ingredients we buy for one dinner costs as much as it would for two meals, had we eaten out. I know, I know, lame excuses.

Anyway, last night we decided to spruce up on our cooking skills (or lack thereof), and make dinner at home. Per Jordan’s suggestion, we went with homemade pizza. I do realize that this is one of the easiest things one could make, and it was more a matter of preparation than actual cooking, but hey, it’s a step in the right direction ;).

Pepperoni, mushrooms, sauce, cheese, and a crust were purchased. I also threw a carton of strawberries into the cart, which we proceeded to eat throughout the pizza preparing process- finishing off the entire carton by the end of the night. At least they’re healthy, right :)?

While I layered the ingredients onto the pizza crust…

Jordan did “what men are supposed to do”…

Just teasing…he read his comics after he helped me in the kitchen :).

We chose to make dinner at Jordan’s house this time, and I always forget how unfamiliar with his kitchen he is.

He looked through just about every drawer to find the oven mitts, and then he we had some trouble with the oven timer. Shows you who does the cooking at his house (he doesn’t read my blog, but for the record, I’m just teasing him and love him despite his unfamiliarity with his own kitchen ;) ).

Eventually we figured everything out, and the pizza was a success.

We paired it with a beer (of the root variety).

I’m convinced that Jordan loves his root beer almost as much as Pea Daddy. When browsing through the “health food section” of Kroger, I saw Jordan eying a six-pack, and knew he wanted to take it home with him :). For not being much of a pop drinker myself, I thought it was really good- spicy, and not super sugary like most types of root beer.

As far as today goes, I plan on getting in a good workout (which I failed to do yesterday), and enjoying an early Father’s Day celebration with my family.

Enjoy your Saturday!

Do you cook with your significant other?

What are your favorite pizza toppings?

 

4 Responses to “Pizza and beer”

  1. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) June 18, 2011 at 7:36 pm #

    I used to cook with Aram. He would try hard and I would do most of the cooking lolz. I hope your workout went well today. :)

  2. yourdailygrace June 18, 2011 at 10:07 pm #

    My boyfriend just randomly decides when he wants to be helpful in the kitchen. He always comes in at the “fun” parts like topping the pizza:) Mushrooms are my favorite pizza topping!

  3. Laura @ LauraLikesDesign June 18, 2011 at 11:27 pm #

    Haha, my fiance is not too familiar with kitchen items either. He’s good at a bunch of other things (finances, fixing things, etc.) so it makes up for it. :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers

