A simple poem for the simply tired

17 Nov

My hair is wet, my nose is cold. I miss my boyfriend. Doesn’t he know?

Perhaps if we fast forward to Christmas, everything would be better. Or perhaps, we could lose the matching gray sweaters.

It’s been one of those days, it’s been one of the those weeks, everything I do makes me feel like a…freak.

I lash out for no reason, I leave homework behind. Sometimes I drive home from school and just cry.

Yes, I’m okay; it’s just that time of the year. Thanksgiving and Christmas, and final exams, are almost here.

I think to myself, the summer would do. Yes, the summer, where everything seemed simply fresh, and new.

I got along with my friends, I got along with my job. Being a camp counselor beats ‘homeworking’ like a dog.

Perhaps I could lose the negative attitude. It’s time to go to bed. With this poem I may accused of being…in a bad mood.

You could say the accusation would be right, my boyfriend’s working second shift and I want to put up a fight. I haven’t seen him in a few days, you see, but I’m just too exhausted, spending time with him is not an option tonight.

Much like my expression in this photo from my good ‘ol camp days, right now I am not feeling very inspired, as I am just way too tired.

Leave a Reply

