Do it. Whatever it is.

21 Nov

“Do it. Whatever it is. If you a dream, go ahead, take the risks, make whatever sacrifices you possibly can.” – Robin Black

As I was reading O Magazine today, I came across that quote, and it spoke to me. As I’m preparing to leave the world of education, and enter the job market, it gets scarier everyday. I have never been one of those people who knows what I want to do “when I grow up.”

When I was seven, I thought I was going to be a famous singer.

Although I taught myself to play guitar, and have sung for many years, I know not everyone can be Taylor Swift.

When I was in junior high, I thought I was going to be a pharmacist. I lasted a semester in pre-pharmacy school and called home crying nearly every night.

When I was in high school, I thought I would be a dance teacher. I did keep all the shoes…

Last semester, I thought I would be an elementary school teacher. Although deep down, I always knew it would never make me happy. It is funny how life works out, things change, and you learn to go with your gut.

My family always thought I would be a writer.

Last semester I decided teaching did not make me happy, and I switched my major back to Communicaton Studies, where I have much more freedom in my career decisions upon graduating. I’m happy I made the decision I did. I’m even happy I’m not one of those people who “just knows” what I want to do.

In most areas of my life, I’m a perfectionist. (Just look at the title of the blog). Being a perfectionist is not always (well, really never) fun. I think that not knowing what I want to do after college, is God’s little way of telling me, “Lose the perfectionist act, Emily, take a risk, have fun.”

 

Yep, that’s what he’s telling me.

Leave a Reply

