New Year, New Beginnings

3 Jan

The time between Christmas and New Years has been busy. Between holiday gatherings, numerous lunch and dinner dates, outings to the movies and nail salon, and running various errands, I can hardly believe it’s already 2011. If someone would’ve asked me five years ago what I’d be doing in 2011, I would’ve told them something very different from the life I’m living right now. Luckily, I have learned in the past five years that life often goes in a different direction, and I am very happy with the path that I have chosen coming into 2011.

I rang in the new year with a gathering of friends and family at home. My sisters and I had a little photo shoot before the eating and games began.

The eating and games went on for a few hours. I won’t mention that I was falling asleep by 10:30 and would have been perfectly content going to bed before the ball dropped. Did I just say that…how old am I? I stayed awake by taking a few more bites of chocolate and playing Just Dance for Wii. I may or may not have fallen asleep on the couch as soon as everyone left :).

As the weekend continued, I celebrated my two-year anniversary with Jordan on New Years Day. He took me out to dinner, and for dessert we enjoyed a (yummy!) brownie sundae for two.

And, I had a little flashback to Audrey Hepburn when he surprised me with these…

After watching “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” in high school, I have only dreamed about owning jewelry that comes in a little blue box. He picked out these pearls all by himself, and they are more than I could have asked for.

After the New Years festivities died down, I have, unfortunately, accomplished…pretty much nothing. Yesterday basically consisted of watching DVDs on the couch, and today has been about the same. I have found myself justifying leftover Christmas candy, more specifically, chocolate, as a healthy go-to snack, and an acceptable outfit, my fuzzy pink bathrobe. Did I mention it’s already 3pm?

I really should get off the couch. I really should figure out my goals for the new year. I really should get to the gym. I really should fold the laundry that I threw on the couch and I should probably wash my oatmeal pan that’s still in the sink from this morning’s breakfast. I really should.

I know the new year is supposed to be about positivity and new beginnings and a better self. And mine will be. The first step I’m taking is giving myself a chance to do nothing. And…I will complete all of the tasks I listed above… just as soon as I finish watching  Rachael Ray. Today’s the kind of day where my  TV shows and pink robe come first.

Don’t judge.

Leave a Reply

