Retail therapy

21 Jan

I have not been (clothes) shopping in awhile. Five months, to be exact. You may or may not know how difficult this has been for me, as I have had to glance over pretty sweaters, dark skinny jeans that have yet to be faded from the washing machine, and stretchy yoga pants that I would be buying more for comfort than for practicing yoga. Choosing to focus on school rather than overwhelming myself with a job means no money coming in, and no money going out. Until today, that is.

My sister and I took a shopping trip, and I probably needed it more than anything. After two weeks of getting trying to get back into the routine of school, and five months of absence from a store that did not sell food or hardware items (okay, that might be a lie, I do know how to “window shop”, and there may or may not be a mall located a mile from school), retail therapy was the perfect prescription for ” the beginning of the semester + I have nothing to wear” blues.

After nearly five hours of shopping and a little break for lunch, it was only natural for me to come home and continue my retail therapy with a healthy dose of online shopping. (Right?)

It was then, on the Anthropologie website, that I fell in love with this apron. Because what girl doesn’t need a flower on her halter and some ruffles on her skirt while she’s whipping up a batch of chocolate chip cookies?

I don’t think June Cleaver (or The Beav) would argue with that one. Although, I may have to. My parents just gave me a brand new apron for Christmas (which I also love!), and I’m more than positive that I have already met my shopping quota for the day. Until then, this apron will sit in my list of bookmarked links, just waiting for my retail therapy needs.

Bye Anthropologie, maybe I’ll be back in five months.

4 Responses to “Retail therapy”

  1. Kristen @ That Hoosier Girl January 21, 2011 at 10:13 pm #

    I “window shop” online at Anthropologie all.the.time. Love that store! Hate their prices! Super cute apron though!

  2. perfectionisnthappy January 22, 2011 at 8:05 am #

    I hate the prices too. I was looking at dresses yesterday too, but $300 for a sundress? I don’t think so.

  3. thebalancebroad January 22, 2011 at 5:40 pm #

    I am obsessed with that store! I look at their website at least 2 times a week. Problems, much? 🙂

    It is SO dang expensive though. I have to really, REALLY fall in love with something from there before I buy it!

    • perfectionisnthappy January 23, 2011 at 8:23 am #

      Definitely expensive, and not accommodating to a college student’s budget. Or to anyone who has a budget, for that matter.

Leave a Reply

