Giving it up

23 Jan

Growing up Catholic, I was always taught to give up something for Lent. If you’re not familiar with this tradition, to put it simply, from Ash Wednesday to Easter Sunday, a person gives up something that they like (example: chocolate, Facebook, TV) or decides to do something to better them self (example: pray more often, let go of negative thoughts, volunteer regularly), in order to demonstrate and respect what Jesus gave up for us.

While I feel that everyone has the right to their own traditions and beliefs, and I’m not writing this as a means to push religion on you, I feel that the concept of giving something up for Lent (or otherwise) can be translated into any lifestyle. For some, it may be a New Year’s resolution, for others, it might be a “spring cleaning” mentality, and for the girl who was doing lunges before church this morning, for the sheer fact that she needed to get into her skinny jeans before her curly hair dried in the shape of the towel that was on her head, it may mean that it’s time to think about what she’s been putting into her body. Oh yeah… that last one was me.

Although the season of Lent isn’t coming up for another month or so, my “Sunday morning lunge routine” gave me the perfect opportunity to think about what I can probably do without in my life. Perhaps that cup of ice cream I snacked on past midnight, or the bag of M&Ms I always insist on sneaking into the movie theater because (obviously) it makes the movie more entertaining?

I have to admit that I’m the girl that will eat less of her “regular food” so that I can eat more dessert later.

Needless to say, it’s time to give some of it up. I can’t keep justifying my “sugar buzz” as a sinus headache, and although I’ll probably always do a lunge or two to give my skinny jeans the stretch that they need, I’d rather be doing my lunge routine at the gym.

Since I need to give myself some time to prepare for this sugar cleanse, I’m going to wait until Ash Wednesday to do so. I’ll have more motivation if I have a bigger reason for it; I’m afraid my will power is not the strongest when it comes to the topic of dessert.

Don’t get me wrong, this is not any type of diet fad. This is just a realization of the amount of sugar I have been putting in my body, and the simple fact that I can do without. I still have a few more weeks until I begin this sugarless journey, and until then, I have some time to think about what will and will not be ruled out.

Perhaps I can think about it over a nice batch of Pumpkin Pie Brownie Cupcakes?

Just kidding :). Maybe.

Do you have any vices that you’re ready to let go of ? What is your biggest weakness, food-wise?

2 Responses to “Giving it up”

  1. thebalancebroad January 24, 2011 at 11:54 am #

    I am Catholic, too! I usually give up the same thing for Lent every year – candy. 🙂 It is a BIG sacrifice, but I’m going to try something different this year….maybe one good deed a day or something?

    • perfectionisnthappy January 24, 2011 at 8:00 pm #

      I agree, any type of food is always a big sacrifice! Two years ago I have up Facebook, and I lasted three months. It was actually pretty refreshing; I even started emailing my friends again :). I think your idea sounds great!

Leave a Reply

