One thing’s for sure

29 Jan

I have been up since 6:00 this morning. Not a good idea when I stayed up until midnight watching “Say Yes to the Dress” on the DVR. Why was I up so early? Interviews. I entered the Indianapolis 500 Princess Program , an ambassador program for college women. The chosen few will represent the Indy 500 through outreach programs and Indy 500 activities.

(Source)

This Saturday was round one of interviews, and if I make it through this round, I will move on to the second round of interviews. The whole process is kind of very intimidating. They only choose 33 girls out of nearly 300.  I’m nervous and trying not to think about the results, but I know, if nothing else, I have another interview experience under my belt.

On a different note, today is Day 2 of the 30 Day Challenge. It’s a little difficult for me to think about what’s in store for me in ten years, because ten years ago, with awkward bangs and on the verge of getting braces (no photos of that available…), I had no idea I’d be in the place that I am right now.

I thought I wanted to be a pediatrician or pharmacist (Now I can’t even walk into a hospital without having a slight anxiety attack), I wanted to go to the University of Michigan (do you know how much out-of-state tuition costs??) , and my biggest worry was whether my “pleather” skirt was on straight (enough said). Ross and I should have been friends.

(Source)

Pleather skirt aside (more like, given to Goodwill and never to be seen again), where do I see myself in ten more years?

I imagine that I will be married, with kids. I could be specific and say that I want four kids, two girls and two boys, but who’s planning? If I’m fortunate enough to do so, I hope to work from home so that I can stay home with my kids. Thankfully, writing is a job that I can do almost anywhere (fingers crossed!). I imagine that I will still be living in Indiana, close to family, and continuing to grow in my relationship with my future husband, whoever that may be ;).

The reality is, as much as I plan for my future, sometimes life takes twists and turns that aren’t expected. The control freak in me is not a big fan of this reality, but I have to admit that it’s the twists and turns that make me a stronger, better person.

One thing’s for sure, though. 2021 will not be the year for the comeback of the pleather skirt. Okay? Okay.

4 Responses to “One thing’s for sure”

  1. Hannah January 29, 2011 at 11:56 pm #

    Okay! I’ll start looking for a pleather skirt now 😉 (I had a pleather jacket about ten years ago. I wore it with a top with a newspaper print. SO COOL 😛 )

    I love your combination of planning, hoping, and flexibility! And good luck with the next step in the 500 Princess Program!! xo

  2. Kristen @ That Hoosier Girl January 30, 2011 at 7:57 am #

    I love Friends and could totally see the Ross in pleather episode!

    Good luck with the Princess process! I am so proud of you for signing up! It was something I always wanted to do, but was too scared of failure – I know now it would have been a great experience regardless of the outcome, but it’s waaaay too late for me now 🙂

    • perfectionisnthappy January 30, 2011 at 8:25 am #

      Thank you! I know…it is a little scary, but since you have to be a full time student to be eligible, this was the last year I could do it, and I just decided to go for it.

Leave a Reply

