Forget the alcohol, I want dessert

30 Jan

Well…(drum roll)…the results are in. I was not chosen to move on to the second round of the Indy Princess Program.  I will admit, I was a little sad at first, but now I feel some relief. Being there yesterday, with all of those other hair sprayed and made-upped  girls, I already saw the eye rolling begin. You know, the “I look better than you in my outfit so why’d you even bother showing up,” eye roll. Even though it’s not a beauty pageant, and they say it’s based on content of character rather than looks, I felt the cliques forming. Memories of girl’s show choir came flooding back, and I’d really rather not re-live the drama that occurs when forty girls spend too much time together in high school.

While at the Princess Program yesterday, a few of the girls began talking about “going out” later that night. I’m not a big bar-goer, so my enthusiasm just wasn’t there. Coincidentally (or not so much), this brings me to Day 3 of the 30 Day Challenge, my view on drugs and alcohol. I realize this is something that is a very personal choice, so in no way am I expecting you to agree with me.

I won’t even discuss drugs, because well, they’re illegal.  As far as alcohol goes, it was never an issue in my life until I went away to college. I only saw my parents drink a few times a year on special occasions, if that, and I had no desire to drink before I was 21. I just wasn’t the “break the law, hurt my parents’ feelings” type, and the thought of drinking didn’t even appeal to me. Then I went away to college and felt like I was the “only one” who had this view.

For the first time in my life, I was being pressured to go to frat parties and sneak drinks into the dorm room, at my dry campus. Without much hesitation, I chose not to give in to this. Instead, I chose to watch HGTV while eating ice cream in my room on a Friday night. I didn’t want to put myself in a situation where I knew I’d be uncomfortable. I lost “friends” over this. I became known as “Miss Perfect”  because of this. I cried, and I went home on weekends, because of this.

While the above situation might seem sad, I’m not looking for pity. But it was sad. Most of the people I met my first year of college did not know how to have fun without alcohol. I became an outcast because I did. Pizza and a movie, anyone? Guess not.

After transferring schools, my experience with college was much better. I had a great roommate, suitemates, and a handful of friends who could appreciate a night of Steak & Shake and shopping, or playing Disney Scene-It while eating Ben & Jerry’s directly from the container, or baking brownies in our bathing suits because we were tired of the snow. None of this involved alcohol, and we were still having a good time.

We had to use the community dorm kitchen with limited supplies, but we made it work 🙂

That year, I also experienced my first couple of parties. Without drinking. “What’s the point?”, you ask. The point is, I saw what went on at those parties. I saw the crying, the fights, the nights most people didn’t remember.  I saw a case of alcohol poisoning, and I saw forty members of the football team getting caught for underage drinking. I wasn’t drinking. I remember it all.

I remember putting on that red satin halter top in the dead of winter, going to that party, trying to be someone I wasn’t. I remember my roommate and I contemplating whether we would really go or not, watching The Food Network and snacking on cereal directly from the box, trying to stay awake as we waited for 10:30 (which may or may not have been past our bedtime…) when the party began.

I remember deciding that I wasn’t going to pretend to be someone I wasn’t.

I preferred nights spent going to dinner, or watching movies, instead.

Since turning 21, I can count on one hand the amount of times I have had a drink. While I don’t mind when my friends and family socially drink, I still haven’t quite acquired the taste, or the need, to do so often.

While a pomegranate martini or pumpkin ale does sound appealing, I’ll save it for the holidays. Besides, then I have more room for dessert.

Yes, sometimes dessert is that good. Don’t tell me you’ve never done it.

 

8 Responses to “Forget the alcohol, I want dessert”

  1. Kristen @ That Hoosier Girl January 30, 2011 at 1:26 pm #

    I’m with ya! I’d much rather spend my money and calories on dessert all the way!

    • perfectionisnthappy January 30, 2011 at 10:42 pm #

      I know!…seven dollars for a margarita vs. seven dollars for a dessert big enough for two? I’ll take the latter 🙂

  2. Hannah January 30, 2011 at 9:15 pm #

    I absolutely agree. Here in Australia, the drinking age is 18, and while some of my friends don’t completely understand that I only rarely drink (and never get drunk), it was only when I went on exchange in America that I saw how scarily integral binge-drinking is to college life over there. During my exchange year, I realised that it was easier to tell people “I don’t drink” than the truth, which is “I enjoy having one drink and then stopping”. There’s an all-or-nothing approach to drinking in the States that scares me!

    Also, like you, I am completely able and comfortable with acting like a complete fool and laughing and joking around completely sober. I don’t need no martinis to start singing Disney songs at the top of my lungs 😉

    Bravo to you for standing my your convictions when faced with the (ridiculous) condemnation of people who should have, as friends, been supporting you. Yay for you! (And now I’ll stop commandeering your comments section 😛 )

    • perfectionisnthappy January 30, 2011 at 10:40 pm #

      Haha, no, I appreciate your comment! I’m so glad that you understand where I’m coming from. And I can totally relate to the Disney songs thing 🙂

  3. thebalancebroad January 31, 2011 at 6:54 pm #

    LOVED this. Good for you!!! I think there is SO much – too much – focus on not just drinking nowadays, but drinking a LOT. When I go out with friends and only have a drink or two, it’s like I get hounded for it. I can’t imagine how it is for people still in college. :-/ And you are VERY right in that food calories are much more enjoyable and leave you without a nasty hangover. 🙂

    • perfectionisnthappy January 31, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

      Thank you! Exactly, there is way too much (unnecessary) pressure on college students to drink. I think people drink as much as they do because they think “everybody else is doing it.” It bothers me that I get criticized for choosing not to drink…but at least I won’t regret anything later!

  4. Jess January 31, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

    I enjoyed reading your views and I respect them! You make a lot of sense:) Ice cream over a beer, thanks!!

Leave a Reply

