I Say a Little Prayer for You…

31 Jan

This might as well be my driveway right now.

Seriously. It might as well be my driveway because we are currently under a winter storm warning in the middle of a big ice storm. It wasn’t supposed to start until tomorrow (or so I thought). I doubted the weather guys. I doubted, I mocked, I laughed, and then I almost cried. You see, they have a history of making a big deal out of nothing. This time, of course, that big deal was for real, no rhyme intended. It took me an hour and fifteen minutes to get home from school today, normally a thirty minute commute. That’s what I get for not believing in the weather people. On the plus side, campus and work are CLOSED tomorrow! Come on, I know you wish for snow days, too :).

Seriously though, the closings are a good thing. The roads were scary, and I only assume that they will continue to get worse. Driving in this kind of weather makes me nervous; I was praying the whole way home. Naturally, this led me to have a “My Best Friend’s Wedding” moment, and before I knew it I was singing “ I Say a Little Prayer for You“(while gripping the steering wheel and trying to pretend that ice was not freezing on my windows and mirrors). I’ll do anything to ease my mind during a long (and particularly scary) commute. Now the song is stuck in my head. Go figure.

The subject of prayer, however, does lead nicely into day 4 of the blog challenge, my views on religion.

Don’t worry, no renditions necessary.

In all seriousness, religion is one of those topics that I always feel funny discussing (maybe it would be more comfortable to explain in song?). I usually feel like I’m being judged; I almost feel that religion is so personal, so private, that it’s really not meant to be shared with anyone except close family, maybe a few friends. I have decided to make an exception for this post, but please, withhold the judgments. (Or I may have to sing…)

Growing up, I was raised Catholic. My dad’s side of the family is Catholic, and after several years of marriage, my mom decided to convert, as well. I went through all of the classes when I was younger, went to church every Sunday (although sometimes unwillingly), and most of the time I felt like I was going through the motions. When I left for college,  I was able to explore religion for the first time on my own. I continued going to a Catholic church because it was what felt familiar to me, but I never really considered my other options. A little later in college, after reading The Secret , I made a list of things that I wanted in a future spouse. Without much thought, I wrote down that he should be Catholic.

A little while after making my list, I met Jordan. I knew he was Christian, but I wasn’t sure of his exact denomination. I later found out that he was raised in a Baptist church. If you’re not into denominations, Baptists and Catholics are basically at two opposite ends of Christianity. After getting to know him, after seeing who he was and what he believed in, his religious denomination was not an issue for me. Yes, we had to figure out what we wanted to do, where we wanted to go, on Sunday mornings. Yes, we had to deal with some family concerns, issues that I won’t describe here, and yes, our faith was tested in the process. In the end, it only made us stronger.

We both grew up in homes that pushed going to church on Sunday, and saying prayers before dinner and bedtime. I’m not saying that I resent  those traditions, not at all, but as I reached my twenties, as Jordan and I got to know one another, we had the opportunity to explore religion on our own. And you know what I realized? God doesn’t see denominations. When I made my list on that piece of paper, asking, praying, for a future Catholic husband, God must have had someone else in mind. To him, it didn’t matter whether we went to the church on the corner, or the church down the street; what mattered was what was in our hearts.

Jordan and I now attend a Methodist church on Sundays. We feel that we “met halfway”, so to speak.  We decided not to push our own denominations on one another if we both weren’t feeling it. What really matters to me, to us, is what is in our hearts and how we show that through our actions from day to day.

Do I still dream of getting married in a Catholic church one day? Possibly. Do I still attend Catholic church with my family on holidays? Definitely. I also read books from the Dalai Lama, admire quotes that originated in Buddhism, and study the Quran in my history class. I feel that religions are fascinating, and each one has its own history to be explored. I see no point in judging someone else’s religion, as I would want no one to judge mine.

Maybe one day…

I’ll say a little prayer.

8 Responses to “I Say a Little Prayer for You…”

  1. Hannah February 1, 2011 at 12:13 am #

    I’m so relieved that the religious difference in your upbringings hasn’t been an issue for your relationship! When I was in the States, one of my good friends went through a horrible period when her parents (Catholic, as she was) wouldn’t accept her Protestant boyfriend and were pretty much telling her she had to break up with them. From my prespective, I couldn’t see how everyone involved couldn’t just accept that they both believed in God and were committed to living as best as possible… to be honest, the conflict blew my mind, coming from an Australian upbringin where religion wasn’t a public issue at all.

    P.S. I think I forgot to give my sympathies about the Princess program to you yesterday, so *hugs*, even though it seems like it was all for the best!

    • perfectionisnthappy February 1, 2011 at 8:24 am #

      Yes, my family was very accepting of the whole thing. I was the one being questioned of my beliefs, which was kind of offensive and pretty tough to deal with. Luckily, he stood up for me, and now we’re fine. Thank you, I do think that everything happens for a reason; it just wasn’t meant to be!

  2. Kristen @ That Hoosier Girl February 1, 2011 at 7:17 am #

    Be careful! We’re ice skating everywhere today too 🙂

    Like you two, my parents met halfway on religion too which meant I grew up non-denominational.

  3. Jess February 1, 2011 at 9:00 am #

    Be careful on the roads!!
    I was raised Catholic as well, and I’m still trying to figure out my own views after 12 years of Catholic schooling!

  4. thebalancebroad February 1, 2011 at 12:12 pm #

    Yep, raised Catholic here, too. 🙂 My mom also converted….and my sisters married Catholic guys (well, one converted), so….I feel like the pressure is on for me when I get married!

    Even though my dad wants more than anything for me to end up with a “nice Catholic guy,” I know in my heart that it’s more important for me to find something who has a strong faith – whether that be a Baptist, Methodist, Christian who attends a Non-Denominational Church…..or whatever. Honestly, I don’t know if Catholicism is for me….but it is so important for me to end up with someone who is Christian. It’s definitely hard to think about!

    And YES! My interview tomorrow is at Marian!!!! That’s where you went, right??? I am so nervous….I have to give a presentation and everything. I’m hoping it will go well….it’s SO crazy that you went there!!

  5. perfectionisnthappy February 1, 2011 at 4:35 pm #

    I know my dad would have liked me to marry someone Catholic too, but he likes Jordan, and he’d be thrilled if we were just married in the Catholic church, which I still do want.

    Yes, I went there! The people that work in the Admissions office are so nice! Actually, I think one of the ladies goes to my church! Hopefully Marian will stay open tomorrow, so you don’t have to reschedule! IUPUI has closed yet again. Good luck with everything!

Leave a Reply

