Another day off

2 Feb

Today is day 6 of the blog challenge; I get to tell you 30 interesting facts about myself. At first I thought 30 seemed like a lot, but then I remembered that I am stuck inside this house have no where to go, and all the time in the world my day off to think. Snow day #2 has so far consisted of howling winds (strong enough to knock down power lines), ice, and now the fun part ;), snow falling on top of ice. I’m all for another day of canceled school, but after two months of looking at a snow covered ground, I’m not sure that I remember what grass looks like. This is not good Mother Nature, this is not good.

What is good (or maybe not, you can be the judge :)), is learning 30 things you probably didn’t know about me:

1. I am originally from Michigan. When we moved to Indiana, I used to get upset about the lack of snow. Our snowfall totals this year have so far surpassed Michigan. Be careful what you wish for 😉

2. My favorite colors are green and pink.

3. I love that my room is painted orange, but in any other aspect of life, orange is my least favorite color. I think having it on my walls makes me feel like I have a little piece of summer all year round :).

4. My eyes were blue until they turned green in third grade. Now they change (bluer to greener), depending on the color I’m wearing.

5. My dad and uncle drag race, and I began drag racing my (street) car when I turned 16.

(that’s me)

My dad says that I can drive his car one day. This summer, perhaps??

(that’s my dad)

6. I love baking, but will do anything to avoid cooking.

7. I taught myself, and my sister, to play guitar (I did take a few lessons to make sure I was teaching myself correctly).

I haven’t played in a while though : /

8. My favorite kind of pop is ginger ale.

9. I interviewed Jon McLaughlin while interning at a newspaper in Indy. I admire his music and was a little starstruck.

10. I only drink pop (see #8) one day a week. My family always gets pizza on Saturday nights, and pizza just doesn’t taste as good without pop.

11. I really do love snow. I’m just not a fan of the the cold temps.

12. Zumba is my favorite form of exercise. I’m considering becoming certified after I graduate.

13. I started tap dancing when I was 3 and continued dance (tap, jazz, hip hop, ballet) until the end of my sophomore year. I miss it, which is probably why I love Zumba so much.

14. About 90% of my clothing is from American Eagle.

15. The scent I usually wear is Bath & Body Works’ Sheer Freesia. They discontinued it in the stores, so I buy it in bulk online.

16. I eat something chocolate after every meal. Or, I incorporate chocolate directly into my meal. (Chocolate peanut butter oatmeal, anyone?)

17. I am always cold. If I’m at home, I wear my big fuzzy robe and I always have a blanket on. If I go out, I wear lots of layers. I’m convinced that I’m cold-blooded.

18. I want to go skydiving one day. I want to let go of the need to be in control (see below).

19. I don’t like riding roller coasters. I don’t like that I have no control over what happens.

20. I’m a control freak (see above).

21. Two  and a half years ago I donated 9 1/2 inches of my hair to Locks of Love.

22. I have been a camp counselor for the past four summers.

Since I graduate in May, I have to find a “real” job this summer. I love camp, so it makes me sad :(.

23. You can read five more interesting facts about me here.

24. Every week, I used to spend hours straightening my hair. Now I don’t feel like myself if I’m not wearing it curly.

25. I could eat breakfast food for every meal. I think it’s because I feel like I am baking breakfast; everything else involves cooking (see #6).

26. I don’t like odd numbers. My alarm clock is always set on an even number, and I will wait until I have been exercising for an even amount of minutes before I stop. Maybe I’m just odd 😉

27. I get allergy shots. Indiana does not agree with me. I didn’t have allergies before I moved here; now I’m that girl who carries allergy meds and nasal spray in her purse.

28. I make a lot of to-do lists. It’s what keeps me organized.

29. I am itching to go to Venice, Italy someday.

30. I am an oldest child, a “guinea pig” as my mom says. My parents were (are?) pretty over-protective , and I grew up as a perfectionist and people pleaser. Hence the title of this blog 🙂

 

What are some interesting facts about you? Do we have anything in common?

 

 

15 Responses to “Another day off”

  1. Sruthi February 2, 2011 at 11:44 am #

    I am the oldest child too and even I get really cold, I allways have a throw on me when at home.

  2. Cait February 2, 2011 at 1:29 pm #

    Ahh I love your 30 day challenge 🙂

    Im the oldest child which is a good and bad thing ha. I ALWAYS have to have something chocolate after every meal (check my blog for what I carry around in my purse haha) Stay warm. The Chi is getting beat up with this weather too!

    • perfectionisnthappy February 2, 2011 at 10:24 pm #

      Thank you for reading! I’ll check out your blog…stay safe and warm!

  3. Jess February 2, 2011 at 4:29 pm #

    I have a lot of clothes from american eagle, too. – a lot of jeans! It’s just so nice walking in and knowing what size I am and not having it take 5 hours:)

  4. Hannah February 2, 2011 at 9:01 pm #

    Definitely agree with #25! Breakfast all the way! About the camp counsellor thing – are there any full-time jobs available as part of that, in terms of organising throughout the year and being there during the summer? Maybe you could try and find a “real job” 😛 somehow involved with what you love doing there?

    • perfectionisnthappy February 2, 2011 at 10:06 pm #

      There aren’t in the place that I’ve been working at (although it would be cool if there were), but I think other places have similar positions. The thing is, what I’m really trying to pursue is a career in writing…I’m just going to miss getting paid to be outside getting a tan and playing all day with the kiddos!

  5. Ashley @ 365 things February 3, 2011 at 9:57 am #

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. Wow, we do have a LOT in common! I love reading ‘interesting facts’ about people because you can learn so much! Good luck with your 30 day challenge 🙂

    • perfectionisnthappy February 3, 2011 at 1:42 pm #

      I agree, it’s very interesting to read about other people! Thank you!

  6. thebalancebroad February 3, 2011 at 11:37 am #

    Oh my gosh, that is SO neat that you drag raced! I LOVE going to the Indy 500 every year (not drag racing, I know, but I LOVE the rush of watching the fast cars). A part of me has always wanted to race. 🙂

    I don’t like odd numbers, either! My birth date is even, and I like it when I’m an even number in age, too.

    I’m so jealous you can play the guitar! That is one instrument I’d love to learn to play. I can play the piano a little, but there is something so calming about being able to play an instrument.

    • perfectionisnthappy February 3, 2011 at 1:40 pm #

      Thank you! I love the rush of racing too. ORP in Clermont has Tuesday Night Street Legals (from May-Sep. usually), anyone can race their car! And..I understand! I will be turning an odd age on my next birthday, and I don’t like it, haha. I agree, music is very calming.

  7. TheHealthyApron February 3, 2011 at 4:02 pm #

    I agree that pizza and pop go well together but since I’ve given it up…I enjoy a glass of wine and pizza 🙂

  8. runyogarepeat February 4, 2011 at 2:50 pm #

    I’ve been a camp counselor for a few years too (and one summer of babysitting the director’s adorable 2 year daughter)! I love it, but I need to find a job + internship this semester. I hope to go back for a week though.

    • perfectionisnthappy February 4, 2011 at 3:11 pm #

      Ah, two is such a cute age..that’d be fun! That’d be nice if you were able to go back for a week!

Leave a Reply

