So maybe I mentioned…

3 Feb

Today, I will not mention that I am “iced in” for the third day in a row. I will not mention that of the three days, today is the first day that I’ve changed out of my Victoria Secret flannels to put on a pair of jeans. I will not even mention that I ate three of my mom’s homemade “on top of the stove cookies” yesterday, because that was the only source of chocolate on hand. (Okay…so maybe I mentioned…)

Today, what I would really like to think about, is this:

The South Carolina vacation I took with Jordan’s family last summer…

Ah, that’s better. The sand. The water. A tan. I could really go for that right about now.

Or, I could think about how my mood today compares to this sign that Jordan bought me while we were in South Carolina:

What can I say? He knows me too well.

It’s actually very fitting, considering that today is day 7 of the 30 day challenge (my zodiac sign and how well it fits my personality). If you haven’t figured it out yet, I am in fact a Cancer, represented by the crab. Jordan didn’t buy me that sign for astrological reasons though. He bought it because I may or may not have the tendency to be in a “crabby” mood quite often every so often. Don’t worry, I was humored by the gift :).

Turns out, I may be able to blame that wonderful trait of mine on the zodiac. If you’re not familiar with the traits of a Cancer, here are a few:

Cancer Positive Traits

Loving and Emotional
Shrewd and cautious
Sensitive and nurturing
Intuitive as well as imaginative
Sympathetic and Protective

Cancer Negative Traits

Indecisive and moody
Over-emotional and sensitive
Clinging and possessive

(Source)

I’ll just get right to the point; these characteristics fit me to a T. If the “Crabby” sign that Jordan bought me doesn’t say it all, these traits do. Yes, I tend to be moody and over-emotional, but it’s only because I’m sensitive ;). I bet I just sound like a charm right now, huh?

It’s okay. He still loves me 🙂

I don’t consider myself possessive or clingy. I enjoy my alone time (as in, watching TV or having the kitchen to myself so I can bake), so being too attached to someone is not something that interests me. Although, I have to admit that I am the jealous type. I guess that characteristic would fit into this category?

As far as my positive traits go, I consider myself nurturing and loving. The majority of my part-time jobs have been in childcare, and I think my nurturing side is brought out in those environments. I am also protective, as I worry about my younger sisters a lot (they may not enjoy this trait so much).

I would also have to agree that I am very intuitive. I usually get a gut feeling, good or bad, and make decisions based on it. Finally, I am definitely cautious. Yesterday I mentioned that I don’t like riding rollercoasters , but I worry about many other things too. I’m the friend that makes sure everyone has their seat belt buckled before we back down the driveway. You’ve gotta love the cautious friend 😉

So that’s me, a Cancer to a T.

I will leave you with one last warm weather photo…

Harbor Island, SC

Is it spring yet?

Do any of the Cancer traits describe you? What’s your opinion of zodiac signs?

6 Responses to “So maybe I mentioned…”

  1. Hannah February 3, 2011 at 7:24 pm #

    Actually, a lot of the positive traits of Cancer suit me, which is interesting as I’ve often felt that my own star sign’s characteristics aren’t too correct. I probably have to admit to the over-emotional bit at times too though 😛

    • perfectionisnthappy February 4, 2011 at 8:03 am #

      Maybe being over-emotional just comes along with being a girl? I blame it on hormones… 😉

  2. Jess February 3, 2011 at 10:30 pm #

    I can definitely be indecisive and moody!

  3. TheHealthyApron February 4, 2011 at 7:51 am #

    My hubby is a cancer and he and I are supposedly a perfect match since I’m a taurus. WE definitely balance each other out! He is super loving and nuturing…little bit of a home body and values family above all else. Gotta love him. Ps. I have the same dress as you in that last pic! You are making me want summer here now!

    • perfectionisnthappy February 4, 2011 at 8:01 am #

      Really? I love that dress! Just thought I’d do some wishful thinking, hoping that summer would be here sooner 🙂

Leave a Reply

