The basics

5 Feb

I am beginning to wonder when it will end.

(Source)

I woke up to five more inches of snow this morning. My sister fell twice as were leaving for this gym, and my dad’s car got stuck in the snow this afternoon. My mom, sister and I had to help push him out (this is when having brothers would be convenient), only to have my sister fall on her back (different sister this time). My boyfriend got his car stuck in his driveway, and his mom got her car stuck in a parking lot that wasn’t plowed. Everyone is okay, but let’s face it, this weather is exhausting. Physically and mentally.

I could really go for one of these right about now.

(Source)

Doesn’t Starbucks know that pumpkin spice = big bucks, especially during stressful February snowstorms? They should. They really should. If ABC Family can play “The Santa Clause” on February 5th (and they did, I watched part of it this morning), then Starbucks can bring back the pumpkin spice due to unusual amounts of snow and ice. Wishful thinking…

Snowstorm aside, today is day 9 of the blog challenge: what I hope my future will be like. In my twenty-two years of life, I have learned enough to know that things rarely turn out the way we hope they will. It’s a good thing too, because if they did:

I would be married to my first boyfriend, who bought me mostly dead flowers on our first (and only) Valentine’s Day because they were “cheap” (not even kidding…oh, to be 16…).

I would be finishing my fifth year in pharmacy school at Purdue (Did I mention that I have a slight phobia of hospitals and medical situations?).

I would be living an hour away from home in a cute studio apartment (and my bank account would not be thanking me).

At this point in my life, I like to keep the the hopes for my future fairly basic. Good health, happiness, safety, joy, and laughter are all I can ask for. In the long run, not much else matters.

I also hope that the next six weeks to spring are quick ones.

Flowers on the trees instead of snow? Yes, please.

 

 

6 Responses to “The basics”

  1. thebalancebroad February 5, 2011 at 7:46 pm #

    Um….I couldn’t agree more!

    I really woke up around 5 p.m. today (since I was sick, I’ll use that as my excuse!) and was SHOCKED to see…more snow? I mean, really?

    I think Starbucks should have Pumpkin Spice available from September to April – because that is when it’s cold (where we are!) and need something to cheer us up. 🙂

  2. runyogarepeat February 5, 2011 at 10:19 pm #

    I know! It warmed up today, but then it started snowing heavy tonight, and there was randomly thunder & lightening with the snowstorm!
    I totally agree – things can change so quickly, especially while we’re young. In the past year, I switched schools & majors.

    • perfectionisnthappy February 6, 2011 at 12:23 am #

      This weather has been crazy! Yes it can, I know how the switching schools and majors thing goes…so much can change in a year.

  3. Jess February 7, 2011 at 5:35 pm #

    I wish starbucks had the pumpkin spice latte all the time- what the heck! i think they’d make more money!

Leave a Reply

