Love and a little black dress

6 Feb

This guy’s a keeper.

And not just because he helps me mix the batter when my arm gets too tired ;).

After being stuck in the house for…five days (!!)…I convinced Jordan that we needed to take advantage of a Sunday without plans and the (finally) clear roads. So, after church he made a left turn inside of our usual right, and we were on our way. I just didn’t know where. I’ve mentioned before that I don’t like surprises, but after a week of cabin fever, I was happy to be going somewhere, anywhere.

Our destination was somewhere that “starts with a P and ends with an “era” (that was my clue 🙂 ). I’ve been craving broccoli cheddar soup for over a week now (he knows me too well), and was a little too ecstatic as we pulled into the slushy Panera parking lot (it’s the cabin fever, I tell ya, it makes me people go crazy). After filling up on soup, salad, and bread (yum!) it was only natural for me to suggest a quick shopping trip to Target. After (just a little) eye roll, he agreed.

My indeciveness always seems to kick in at Target. There’s just too much to choose from. Clothes, shoes, chocolate on clearance? It’s a lot for a girl to handle. Luckily, I did have some purpose for this trip. About two weeks ago, Jordan texted me from work to let me know that he had made us Valentine’s Day reservations. He’s not a big planner, so I was giddy for, basically, the rest of the evening :). He only gave me one clue: that our attire must be at least business casual. Enter Target and a college girl on a budget.

While Jordan strolled through the appliance and electronic aisles, I browsed through dresses. Apparently it’s bathing suit and sundress season already (?), so it took me awhile to find something that is appropriate to wear in February. After finding a dress, and taking off my ten layers (it’s such a pain trying on clothes in the winter) to try it on, we had a winner.

Of course, this dress requires a sweater (and believe me, I’ll be wearing tights and close-toed heels too), which required fifteen more minutes of indecisively looking for something that matched, only to realize that Target wasn’t my best bet. Did I mention that I’m indecisive? Thirty minutes later and a little black dress in hand, I found Jordan aimlessly walking around the CD section. He then proceeded to offer to pay for my dress at the checkout (twice) and to walk back and get the bag of  pretzel M&Ms that I was eying on the way in. Have I mentioned he’s a keeper?


Today’s blog challenge is to describe my first kiss and first love, but clearly , we know who I am in love with (and yep, he’s the first). My first kiss was with someone else, so really, does it even matter?

Nah.

Who is the person in your life that remains patient when indecisiveness kicks in? Any other Target fans out there :)?

18 Responses to “Love and a little black dress”

  1. Hannah February 6, 2011 at 8:38 pm #

    Target in Australia is lame compared to Target in America, so I can’t really say I am! I loved the few times I went to a Super Target in the States, though.

    Are you going to show us you in the dress soon? I hope so; it’s gorgeous!

    • perfectionisnthappy February 7, 2011 at 3:48 pm #

      Super Target is a lot better than regular Target! Yes, I will take pictures on Valentine’s Day and post them next week. Thanks!

  2. runyogarepeat February 6, 2011 at 8:49 pm #

    So sweet! My boyfriend thinks I’m the most indecisive person in the world, but he still waits patiently when I’m taking forever to decide what movie to watch or what I want to eat.

  3. Sonia @ Master of Her Romaine February 6, 2011 at 11:22 pm #

    My boyfriend is definitely the one that is by my side throughout all of my indecision as well as my need to plan everything exactly as I want it- I tend to vacillate between the two very rapidly!
    And I am definitely a Target lover 🙂

  4. TheHealthyApron February 7, 2011 at 1:23 pm #

    aww you guys are so sweet! my hubby is def the patient one when life pushes our buttons and he’s great at knowing how to make me smile 🙂

    • perfectionisnthappy February 7, 2011 at 3:50 pm #

      Aw, thank you! Aren’t we lucky to have great guys in our life :)?

  5. thebalancebroad February 7, 2011 at 3:12 pm #

    You guys are SO sweet together!!! He is most definitely a keeper. Any guy willing to wander the aisles of my favorite store (!) would win my heart, too. 🙂

  6. Allison February 7, 2011 at 5:01 pm #

    That would be my fiance! I have to be one of the most indecisive people on the planet, and yet not only did he stick around, he proposed! I also have a Target problem. He hates taking me there because I walk so slowly so that I can try and eye absolutely everything in the store!

  7. Jess February 7, 2011 at 5:31 pm #

    My boyfriend is always, always patient with me. I definitely can relate:)

  8. Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots February 8, 2011 at 1:29 am #

    That last picture is one of the cutest things I’ve ever seen 🙂

  9. TheSceneFromMe February 8, 2011 at 4:29 pm #

    Target obsessed! I can’t walk out of there without buying something 🙂
    My husband is the calm one in the relationship, thank goodness someone is!

  10. Colleen @ The Lunchbox Diaries February 8, 2011 at 4:43 pm #

    I love the 30 day challenge for your blog! It certainly would help with writer’s block!

Leave a Reply

