Heavy eyelids and not enough food

7 Feb

After having a six day vacation from…everything…it was not easy to get up at 7am today. I know I complained about having cabin fever, but maybe I was just not quite ready to go back to school yet.

Today was long. And tiring. And long. Not enough food packed in my lunchbox= not enough energy to get me through the day. I don’t know what I was thinking, but Greek yogurt with blueberries and a side of pretzels and almonds just doesn’t cut it for the nine-hour day (remind me again, why did I schedule my classes for all day long?) . Having been stuck inside in an ice storm, I was so used to being within walking distance of the kitchen at all times; apparently I forgot (or chose to ignore) how much food is required to get me through the day. Throughout most of my last class I had to fight to keep my eyelids open.

(Source)

It’s just not a good thing. One reason being, I don’t look like an angelic second grader propped up so nicely on a book. Second reason being, I have the tendency to jump. You know, the awkward, “I was starting to fall asleep but heard my teacher’s voice, so I should really wake up now” jump. It’s just not cute in college. Remember the kid who always did that in high school, hanging over his desk, or better yet, falling out of it ? I do too. I don’t want to be that kid. I am over-filling my lunchbox from here on out. Getting a little more sleep wouldn’t hurt either :).

On another note (music note, perhaps?), today’s blog challenge involves this little workout saver gadget:

I get to tell you ten songs that show up on my iPod when I put it on shuffle. The type of music a person listens to says a lot about them, don’t ya think? Don’t judge too much though; I’m the type of person who listens to the same album over and over (i.e. I listened to the new Taylor Swift CD about 3 times today while driving).

Emily’s iPod (on) Shuffle

1. Umbrella- Taylor Swift ( a T-Swift song, what are the chances)

2. Things People Say- Lady Antebellum

3. Anthem for American Teenagers- Jon McLaughlin

4. Spanish Caravan- The Doors

5. Bullets- Augustana

6. Chariot- Gavin DeGraw

7. Before He Cheats- Carrie Underwood

8. Here Today- The Beach Boys

9. Bottle It Up- Sara Bareilles

10. Dig a Pony- The Beatles

This is a fair representation; I will listen to (pretty much) anything. Although, I’m kind of surprised that Michael Jackson did not appear on that list. I had this thing for him when I was five (seriously, I asked for his “cassette tape” for my fifth birthday) and I haven’t gotten over his music since.

(Source)

We all have our guilty pleasures.

What is your favorite guilty pleasure music?/ Do you have any “falling asleep in class” stories?

 

11 Responses to “Heavy eyelids and not enough food”

  1. runyogarepeat February 7, 2011 at 10:23 pm #

    Heavy eyelids are the worst – sometimes, I just can’t control it, and I try so hard to force my eyes open.

    Love Taylor Swift. Other guilty pleasures is my 90s running playlist filled with BSB, Britney, Spice Girls, & N’Sync. I still love their music!

  2. Jess February 7, 2011 at 11:45 pm #

    Love taylor swift!

  3. Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots February 8, 2011 at 1:32 am #

    I love Taytay swift! And feel slightly guilty about it, but not too much ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I pretty much love everything but rap and REALLY twangy country… sooo I”m not very discriminating ๐Ÿ˜›

    I also have an affinity for boy bands. I was (am) obsessed with n sync. And kind of have a soft spot for the jo bros (don’t judge)

    yeah my life is one big guilty pleasure ๐Ÿ˜›

    • perfectionisnthappy February 8, 2011 at 7:43 am #

      I saw the jo bros in concert (on my 20th birthday)! so no judging there! haha

      • Stacie@sugarandsneakers February 8, 2011 at 7:50 am #

        The Jonas Brothers are officially my guilty pleasure. I went to about 3 concerts my freshman/sophomore year of college…I can’t believe I just admitted that.

  4. TheHealthyApron February 8, 2011 at 10:33 am #

    Oh guilty pleasure in music? hmm I used to like Hansen and I would still jam out to MMMMBOP if I ever heard it! hahah

    • perfectionisnthappy February 8, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

      I did a 5K for breast cancer in the fall and they were playing MMMBop over the speakers! I like it too!

  5. TheSceneFromMe February 8, 2011 at 4:37 pm #

    My guilty pleasure is NKOTB, BSB and NSYNC~! Still love all of them.
    I am not ashamed to say I have tickets to the NKOTBSB concert in Indy this summer, YEAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. Colleen @ The Lunchbox Diaries February 8, 2011 at 4:40 pm #

    Hey girl! I just stumbled upon your blog, and I love it! I also felt the need to comment because I have been obsessed with Michael since I was in second grade! I had all his “cassette tapes” ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

