Somewhere in time

10 Feb

“No matter how much you plan, it is tenacity, unyielding desire to succeed, and the ability to cope with change that will eventually prevail.” – Perry Payne

Today at my internship, I had a task to research quotes related to inspiration and happiness. So daunting, I know ;). We are currently in the process of developing an online magazine, promoting health and wellness in the Indianapolis area (to be launched very soon!!). A portion of the website will be dedicated to mental and social health, hence, my research of inspirational quotes. I felt that the above quote was speaking directly to me,  but I think that many of you can probably relate, and I thought I’d share. I am working on creating a page dedicated solely to inspirational quotes, so be on the lookout! We all need a little inspiration every once in awhile :).

Trying not to think about my frozen face and the below 0* temperature as I walked from the parking lot to my building this morning, I began dreaming of leaving on a jet plane, AKA, taking a vacation that lasts until the first of spring. Unfortunately, this is not a feasible option, and answering today’s blog challenge question will have to suffice: Where would I like to visit or live?

Hands down, without a doubt, my favorite vacation spot is Mackinaw Island (and Mackinaw City), Michigan. I am originally from Michigan, so I first visited Mackinaw when I was four, and from nine to eighteen, I went every summer. If you have never been, you really should go. Seriously. You won’t regret it.

Sisters, family friend, and I in front of the Mackinaw Bridge

The Mackinaw Bridge is what connects the lower peninsula of Michigan to the upper peninsula. The bridge is also a divider of two of the Great Lakes, Huron and Michigan. I’ve always stayed in the city and taken a ferry to the island for the day, because otherwise it can get quite pricey (there are a lot of things to do in the city, too).

Perhaps you have seen this movie, which is filmed on the island. If you haven’t seen it, it’s a good one! I know what you’re thinking, “what is this girl getting so excited about?”  The thing is, basically, when you go there, time stops. Okay, maybe not literally, but it feels like time stops. You have to take a ferry (or if you have nothing better to do with your money, a private plane) to get to the island, and no cars are allowed. Everyone travels by horse and carriage, bicycle, or foot.

(Source)

There are fudge shops on every corner, bed and breakfasts galore, historical sites, restaurants on the water, and this church, where I plan to get married one day:

Just kidding (but not really 😉 ). Basically, I am in love with this place. In a dream world, I would live here (in the summer, the island kind of shuts down in the winter). And if I win the lottery or suddenly have enough money to afford a million dollar home, I will.

Mackinaw Vacation 2007 (My sisters look so young!)

It’s not Hawaii, it’s not Europe, and it might not warm up until June, but I have to give some credit to my home state. Just trust me on this one. Maybe you can come visit me one day ;).

I’ll be on the beach.

 

8 Responses to “Somewhere in time”

  1. Kristen @ That Hoosier Girl February 10, 2011 at 4:45 pm #

    You’ve convinced me! I can’t believe I’ve never been! This will have to change this summer…as long as I can get the hubby to agree to it 🙂

    • perfectionisnthappy February 10, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

      Oh, he’d love it ;). You can rent a tandem bike and bike around the island. It sounds cheesy, but it’s a really good kind of cheesy :)!

  2. Ashley @ 365 things February 10, 2011 at 5:41 pm #

    I’ve never been to Michigan! One day I will though because I collect pictures of me/husb/son with state signs. 🙂

    I’d loooove me some beach right about now. This freezing cold weather is starting to wear on me.

    Love that no cars are allowed there. I’d like to live somewhere where you had to travel by foot or other means. Sounds like a neat place!

  3. runyogarepeat February 10, 2011 at 9:38 pm #

    That’s actually a really good idea – I might suggest inspirational quotes for my internship to help the marathoners and kids program stay motivated!

  4. Jess February 11, 2011 at 11:39 am #

    Mackinaw is SUCH a cute place. I love it!

  5. thebalancebroad February 12, 2011 at 12:29 pm #

    I went to Mackinaw Island as a kid, and I still remember how much fun it was! We rented tandem bicycles, ate ice cream, and it was SO relaxing and fun. I would really, REALLY love to go back one day. It is absolutely breathtaking there!

    • perfectionisnthappy February 12, 2011 at 1:27 pm #

      I know, it is! The tandem bicycles are the best…my cousin and I shared one, one year and we fell over trying to get on it. It makes for good memories :).

Leave a Reply

