Quirky family stuff

11 Feb

After writing my “I don’t feel like doing homework” post,  I actually sat down and did it for 3 hours straight (!!!). Three hours, and I only finished one class worth of homework (I’m taking five classes :(). Oh well, I suppose a head start is better than no start at all.

You know what I did as soon as three hours had passed? Why, I ran to the grocery store for nothing other than Ghiradelli chocolate chips and an Amy’s individual margherita pizza, of course. My parents had a date night for an early Valentine’s Day celebration, my sister and her boyfriend went out to dinner, and my other sister is hanging out with friends. Therefore, I had the whole house to myself :). I was pretty excited to eat my pizza and watch TV in peace and quiet, but the pizza disappointed. Apparently no one buys items out of the “health food” section of my grocery store, because it was freezer burnt. However, since it was getting late and I was hungry, I baked it anyway. It came out watery and I had to blot it with a paper towel (yuck). The chocolate chips, though? They never disappoint!

I am currently making Jenna’s chocolate cake balls. I wish my camera wasn’t broken because these are definitely worth taking a peek at! (check out Jenna’s blog for photos 🙂 )

Why am I baking at 10pm? Sometimes I just get an urge to bake. Another reason? Jordan and I are getting together with some friends tomorrow for a “game night/pitch-in dinner” and my contribution is dessert. There are some picky eaters in the group, but they better they’re gonna love these balls ;)!

Onto today’s blog challenge, my earliest memory. Ah, where to begin.

That would be me in Florida, at my grandparent’s vacation condo. I was about 3 1/2 in that picture (I think), and I do remember that particular vacation. The home videos help, but the event that I distinctly remember is now laughable.

I remember being in the bedroom by myself, because I was three and went to bed earlier than everyone else :). I  heard voices outside the room, and I must have went out in the hallway to find my parents. What I saw next, well, it scared me. There was a lady in a white robe, with a white face, and light blonde hair slowly walking toward me. I don’t remember anything after this. Apparently I was really scared, because my mom told me I started screaming for her . Want to take a stab at who that lady really was? It was my grandma, of course. In her face mask, and robe. My mom tells me that I was afraid of her for the rest of the trip. Poor grandma :(, she was just trying to pamper her skin and it resulted in a scared granddaughter. Thankfully, I outgrew that phase and I’m totally okay with the face mask now :).

Other than that, I have so many good memories from childhood.

My dad and I at a family reunion… I wish that I could still pull off that romper ;). Little kids can wear anything and still look adorable, hehe.

My sisters and I at Christmas time…I was six. As a cutesy joke, we took a picture posed in the same way this past Christmas (umm..I’m 22 now):

We bought the sweatshirts especially for the occasion. Yeah…we’re cool like that ;).

I suppose I’m fortunate to have sisters who will still take posed pictures with me at Christmas time (it makes my mom happy, too).

Ah, memories. Well, I’ve got to get back to rolling and sprinkling my cake balls! It’ll be past my bedtime before I know it ;).

Happy weekend!

 

Please tell me I’m not the only one that still does quirky family stuff?

 

 

 

 

4 Responses to “Quirky family stuff”

  1. thebalancebroad February 12, 2011 at 12:26 pm #

    Definitely not!! Maybe it’s being raised with all girls? Because our family is that way, too. 😉 You and your sisters are all GORGEOUS, by the way!!

    Awwww….that story about your grandma made me laugh!! I can see myself doing the same thing. I was afraid of a LOT when I was younger. And….still sort of am. 😉

    • perfectionisnthappy February 12, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

      Aww, thank you :). Hehe, I’m scared of a lot too…I carry pepper spray and a rape whistle on my key chain…it makes me feel more safe 🙂 (not like the burbs are dangerous in the first place…)

  2. Stacie@sugarandsneakers February 12, 2011 at 3:18 pm #

    I need your homework motivation! Mind if I borrow some? haha

    Having the house to yourself is so relaxing, but boo to your soggy pizza!

    • perfectionisnthappy February 13, 2011 at 9:05 am #

      There’s not a lot to borrow, haha…it takes me forever to get going, so once I get the motivation, I don’t want to let myself stop 🙂

Leave a Reply

