Lovey-Dovey

14 Feb

Happy Valentine’s Day!

I hope you’re not in this situation!

 I am having an issue with this holiday being on a Monday this year. Monday is not usually my day to shine, and since I have a full day of classes, I won’t have time to nap before my date tonight (I may or may not have went to bed too late last night).  Hopefully I won’t need a nap though, because I’m pretty excited, and for me, excitement leads to some “slap happyness”! Jordan is taking me out on a surprise date tonight, one that he planned a few weeks ago. This is huge, because he’s a last minute kind of person, and has only made reservations one other time in our 2 years and 1 month of dating.  I thought that this occasion might call for skipping my last class, but since I am a “rule follower” to an annoying T, I decided against it. I may be regretting that decision later, when I only have thirty minutes to get ready (my hair may take 20 minutes alone) tonight…

Have you ever noticed that people act nicer than usual on Valentine’s Day, like they “have to” because the holiday tells them to? On this Valentine’s Day, I have discovered several things:

1. The campus center at my school likes to give out “free hugs” on holidays that are associated with caring or love. Volunteers stand there, waiting to hug strangers. I’m a bit of a germaphobe and would rather stick to hugs from close friends and family, but I suppose it’s a nice gesture!

(Source)

2. This week is Random Acts of Kindness Week. I actually already knew this because I’ve been researching it for work, but it fits in nicely with Valentine’s Day, don’t ya think? The idea is that we can make the world a better place by spreading kindness through simple gestures; it may not take a lot of effort on our part, but it will most likely make a difference to someone else.  A few examples include: paying for the person behind you in the drive-thru, feeding someone’s parking meter, or giving your leftovers to a homeless person on the street (my family tries to do this when we eat downtown, one time my sister’s boyfriend stole a fork from the restaurant so that the person didn’t have to eat the pasta with their hands- hey, it was for a good cause! The people are sooo appreciative though, it makes me want to cry).

3. Apparently students think that Valentine’s Day is an excuse for PDA on campus. Seriously people, I’ve never seen you this lovey-dovey any other day, so why start now? (It’s not that PDA always bothers me, it’s just that it bothers me when I’m trying to eat my arugula salad and do homework  blog in peace.)

4. Indiana temperatures have finally risen above 35*, so it is an excuse to wear a tank top to class. Let me make it clear that I was not the one in the tank top, and I’m guessing that the girl who was wearing it might be regretting her decision later; I think she confused Thursday’s high of 60* with today’s high of 39*.

5. Valentine’s Day has given me an excuse to blog about “my discoveries on Valentine’s Day”, therefore allowing me to put off writing a paper that is due tomorrow.

I better get going on that. People are might be staring at me because all of the computers are full and I am using mine for blogging rather than school work. Oops?

What are your Valentine’s Day plans?/ Do you notice that people act differently on holidays that encourage us to be more loving?

9 Responses to “Lovey-Dovey”

  1. Kristen @ That Hoosier Girl February 14, 2011 at 3:46 pm #

    It’s so funny to think of how different college computer labs must be now. When I was in school, Facebook was just really getting started (we were getting excited, hoping they’d add Ball State’s email addresses to their system so we could create usernames) and nobody really knew what MySpace was yet. And not sure that anybody really blogged – I still remember my parents asking what it was way back then!

    • perfectionisnthappy February 14, 2011 at 11:27 pm #

      I know, it’s crazy. A girl actually kicked me off the computer because she needed to use it for actual homework! I didn’t complain though…I know how annoying it is when I can’t find a computer to do my homework on!

  2. Jess February 14, 2011 at 4:17 pm #

    Don’t you love how girls wear skirts and tank tops when it gets above freezing? it is crazy!

  3. thebalancebroad February 14, 2011 at 7:48 pm #

    That picture cracks me up!

    Um….the hugging thing would kind of freak me out. 😉 Not that I don’t love strangers, or hugging, but hugging strangers? But it’s a sweet gesture!

    I hope you 2 have a wonderful Valentine’s day together – I can’t wait to see what your surprise date is!

  4. Michelle February 14, 2011 at 8:37 pm #

    The free hugs things is a little creepy! Maybe I’m weird, but I don’t really like to touch strangers that much haha

    I walked past a flower shop on my way home from work today, and the line was HUGE! It was kind of funny and cute at the same time.

    • perfectionisnthappy February 14, 2011 at 11:22 pm #

      I don’t think it’s weird at all, I don’t like strangers touching me either! Hehe, I went to Wal-Mart yesterday and the card aisle was packed.

  5. runyogarepeat February 15, 2011 at 11:36 am #

    I don’t understand how girls wear tank-tops or dresses or skirts without leggings or tights in below freezing temps! I’m cold even walking around in my jeans or sweatpants. My boyfriend is a last-minute person too, but he made reservations too for my favorite – sushi!

Leave a Reply

