A little less strawberry

16 Feb

Jordan has yet to send me the photos from Monday night, so it looks like I will be postponing my post-Valentine’s post one more day. In the mean time, I will get back to the blog challenge!

Oh yeah, your questions! You didn’t think I would leave you hanging, did you? The truth is…my finger is still ring-less. In other words, he didn’t pop the question. Believe me, when he does, I’m sure I will have a post solely dedicated to the words, “He put a ring on it!”, or you know, some other catchy phrase that signifies getting engaged :). In the past few months, we have been talking more seriously about our future together, and he thinks it’s cute/funny to tease me about the proposal (If you watch “The Office” you may remember when Jim kept doing this to Pam?).

Seriously, how cute is that?

That’s where the Ring Pop came into play, but I will explain more tomorrow (he tells me that he’ll email me the pictures when he gets home from work tonight…we’ll see if he remembers :)).

Up today on the slightly delayed Day 17 of the blog challenge: my highs and lows of the past year.

I have to say, 2010 was a good year for me. It was a year of changes, but mostly for the better. I began 2010 in the first professional “block” in the School of Education. This meant that I would be taking only elementary education classes, while interning in an elementary school. As excited as I was to begin the program, I quickly lost that feeling. I found that I did not have a passion for teaching, and I struggled daily with what I should do. At one point, I thought about dropping all of my credit hours and taking another semester off. After much debate and a handful of emotional breakdowns, I stuck out my classes for the semester. Finding out that I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do with my life, as a junior in college, was definitely a low point. But, finishing that semester with a 4.0 was such an accomplishment and relief all in one. Another high point? Changing my major the day my spring classes ended . It was bittersweet leaving all of my classmates in the School of Education, but I switched my major to Communication Studies in order to pursue a career in writing, and never looked back.

As summer approached, I was asked to return as a camp counselor for the camp that I had worked at every summer since being in college. A low point here was that they hired a girl who had never worked at our camp before to be the “Head Counselor.” I had already been there for three summers prior :(. This situation totally confused me and made me feel like I wasn’t good enough for the position.  A high point? That girl “didn’t end up working out,” and I stepped into the role of Head Counselor without being asked. The campers’ parents knew me, the kids liked me, and I was eventually acknowledged for all of my hard work after some of my co-workers approached my bosses without my knowledge. It was nice knowing that I was appreciated.

Only at camp did I get paid to play with 50+ little friends, go on field trips, and get a tan. Oh, how I’ll miss it.

Surprisingly, starting my final year (!!) of college was such a high. I could see the light at the end of the tunnel, and I was studying something that sparked my interest. At the end of the semester I interviewed for an internship that was totally up my alley, and I got the job!

Another high- Jordan and I celebrated our 2-year anniversary.

He thought the occasion called for a huge ice cream sundae for two, and pearls. This was a very low point, obviously ;).

Then school started again (um, low point? first semester excitement, where did you go?). I also started my internship (high point!). I am excited to say that the site I am writing/editing for is now up and running. It’s just in it’s beginning stages, but feel free to take a peek!

I don’t know what the rest of 2011 has in store for me, but I have a feeling it will be full of many good things. And who knows, maybe the next occasion will call for a little less strawberry and a little more sparkly?

Not that I’ve put too much thought into it, or anything :).

6 Responses to “A little less strawberry”

  1. Jess February 17, 2011 at 12:41 am #

    Haha you are dreaming big!! 😉
    Seems like you had a great year!

  2. Kristen @ That Hoosier Girl February 17, 2011 at 7:29 am #

    Although…at least it’s the best flavor!

  3. thebalancebroad February 17, 2011 at 9:29 am #

    What a great year you’ve had over all!

    I can’t wait to hear the story behind the ring pop. I LOVED that line from “The Office.” Jim = my idea of a perfect guy.

    It sounds like your year has gotten off to a great start…don’t you love that?! It always makes me super excited for what’s to come!

  4. runyogarepeat February 17, 2011 at 11:31 am #

    I’m a camp counselor too, and I love it! I can’t believe I get paid to play outside all day, go on field trips, hang out with awesome co-counselors, and laugh all day. I miss it!

Leave a Reply

