A fairy tale (of sorts)

17 Feb

I just scored a 76% on an online exam. I feel the need to tell you, because my perfectionism is getting the best of me. I am really hoping think that when I look back on this five years from now, I will laugh and realize how insignificant a 76% is in comparison to the rest of life, but right now, I’m kicking myself for not scoring at least a B. Seriously though, do professors really think that students only take one class a semester: theirs? My syllabus looked like this (for one week, for one class): read two chapters, write (four page) paper (with research/citations), begin groupΒ  portfolio project (I find group projects completely annoying, especially for online classes!), take exam (due Thursday by 11:45 pm). Then I opened up the exam instructions and it read: “make sure you have thoroughly studied the content, and be prepared to answer the questions within a time limit.” When did I have time to “thoroughly study the content”? Unless I brought my book into the shower with me this morning (which I did not) or read while I was driving home from my internship (which I also did not do), I’m not really not sure. I took the darn exam anyway. And got a 76%. I need a vacation. Or a graduation ;).

If you’re not a perfectionist book nerd who complains about grades, like me (yes, I am calling myself out), then perhaps a Valentine’s Day story will spark your interest. Jordan finally sent me the slightly blurry photos from his Droid, so I can tell you about Monday night :). How bout in fairy tale form? Sure, why not.

A Valentine’s Recap

Once upon a time (This is feeling kind of cheesy already..), Girl meets Boy.

Girl and Boy fall in love… yada yada yada…Two years, one month and a few odd weeks later, their third Valentine’s Day rolls around. Girl knows this is their third Valentine’s. But Boy, he forgets (you’ll see).

Boy comes to the door wearing his Sunday best, only to be led to Girl’s bathroom, where she stands with her sisters, a mess.

Yeah, I was looking pretty hot.

You see, Girl had only twenty minutes to get ready after class and anything she did with her hair would just not work(go figure). After some tugging, some pulling, and some bobby pinning, she and Boy got out the door twenty minutes later than planned. This led Girl to apologize profusely for being “such a brat” on Valentine’s Day (she was really tired from being gone all day, okay?).

When they reached the car door, Boy began to look nervous, searching for something in his pocket. For a brief second, Girl thought he might be searching for, well, a ring. And she was right, except that it was not the kind of ring she was expecting.

He pulled out that ring, asking her if she would be his Valentine. She said “yes,” of course ( a proposal on Valentine’s Day would’ve been too cliche anyway, and the Ring Pop proposal definitely made her smile πŸ˜‰ ). After the presenting of the ring, Boy and Girl rushed off to the restaurant. Due to Girl’s hair catastrophe, speeding driving fast but cautiously, was called for. On the car ride there, Boy started talking about how excited he was to be spending a second Valentine’s Day with Girl. I guess he forgot that it was their third? Girl then had to explain their Valentine’s plans from the past two years. Girl sometimes wonders what runs through Boy’s mind to make him forget.

The couple arrived downtown in just the knick of time; Boy surprised her with reservations at The Eagle’s Nest! This is a restaurant she had been dying to try for a long time! They rode the elevator to the 20th floor of the building…

and arrived at the restaurant. It is on top of a revolving rooftop so that, in an hour, each table is able to see a 360* view of the city! Girl was asked to choose a white or red rose upon the arrival (very classy), and the couple were seated at a window seat.

At this point, Boy and Girl realized that their camera batteries were dead, thus resorting to the Droid camera. They also realized, for as much as a Droid costs, the pictures should probably be of better quality than they really are. Just an observation.

Despite the poor photo quality, both Boy and Girl agreed that the view of the city was beautiful.

One view of Downtown Indy from our table

Girl may have spent too much time looking out the window rather than at the Boy across from her. Oops. But, there were so many windows; they got distracting!

They couple talked and ate. They tried to take a photo together but realized that the Droid does not do well in nighttime lighting, or from an arms length away. They resorted to shots of each other, and ended up looking like something (someone?) out of Twilight.

See the piano player right behind our table? She played everything from memory; love songs from now(Colbie Callait) and then (Ella Fitzgerald); I find piano music so relaxing!

Glow much?

After spending two hours eating appitizers, salads, dinner, and dessert, the couple decided that it was time to roll go home. The food was good, but Boy told Girl that they were paying more for the view than they were the food quality (the menus did not have prices on them, and he would not let her look at the check…but she assumes it’s a once or twice in a lifetime kinda deal). Girl had to agree; the food was not as great as she was expecting. Girl must say that Jenna’s flourless chocolate cake was better than the one she tried at the restaurant. Boy agreed with this one.

At the end of the night, the couple made their way back to the suburbs, filled with food and an unforgettable view of the city. Boy surprised Girl with a pot filled with tulips (her favorite, and she can plant them outside in the spring!) that he had been hiding behind the front seat, and Girl invited Boy in for some tea.

They both quickly realized how late it was getting,Β  so Boy drank his tea and went home.

And they lived happily ever after… (we assume πŸ™‚)

The End.

Do you prefer dates that include a dress code and priceless (literally) menu, or would you rather do something more laid back?

I like going out to a nice dinner every once in awhile, but the majority of the time, I am perfectly fine with watching TV on a Sunday afternoon, or going for a walk in the park. I always feel bad when the food isn’t as great as expected, but the price remains the same!

 

 

8 Responses to “A fairy tale (of sorts)”

  1. Michelle February 18, 2011 at 9:19 am #

    Cute story…sounds like it was fun!

    I usually prefer laid back dates, but I’m definitely up for something fancier every once in a while πŸ™‚

  2. thebalancebroad February 18, 2011 at 12:05 pm #

    You are SUCH a great writer!! I loved reading about your date – it sounds just perfect. πŸ™‚ I’ve been to the Eagle’s Nest, but it’s been awhile! It’s breathtaking and definitely very distracting!

    I am more of a laid back date girl, but I do LOVE getting dressed up and fancy for a night out every now and then. πŸ™‚

  3. Jess February 20, 2011 at 3:48 pm #

    I like nice restaurants once in a while, but most of the time I like to be relaxed. And I know exactly how you feel, but don’t worry about your grade! It’s over now:)

    • perfectionisnthappy February 20, 2011 at 6:30 pm #

      Thanks :), it turned out that one of the questions had two write answers, so she added two points which bumped me up to a B-. I’ll take it. haha

    • perfectionisnthappy February 20, 2011 at 6:30 pm #

      Thanks :), it turned out that one of the questions had two right answers, so she added two points which bumped me up to a B-. I’ll take it. haha

  4. Katie February 22, 2011 at 3:11 am #

    It was good to finally hear the ring pop story. Sounds like you had a really nice time. I would also gloat at the 76% anyday. So you ca gloat away!!

Leave a Reply

