I believe in Quaker Oatmeal Squares

18 Feb

I began my morning with a bowl of Quaker Oatmeal Squares (yum), and then I was off to campus for a service project. I’m a member of the IUPUI chapter of Lambda Pi Eta, the National Communication Honor Society, and we try to participate in at least one volunteer opportunity a month. Today we went to Gleaners Food Bank in Indy.

(Source)

Gleaners stores, and then redistributes food and grocery items (donated from families, grocery stores, manufacturers and restaurants) to over 400 Hunger Relief Charities in Indiana. My job was to separate food items into different boxes by category. This was actually pretty fun, and I got to take a peek at all of the yummy food that families will be receiving in the future! Quaker Oatmeal Squares and MaraNatha Almond Butter were items that especially caught my eye. I couldn’t believe how much of it there was (!!), and I wouldn’t stop talking about it. I think my enthusiasm began to reach the point of annoyance, because the people I was working with started teasing me, haha. Most of the food was surprising healthy though, like quinoa, whole wheat pasta, all-natural cereal, and several gluten and dairy-free products, just to name a few. Don’t worry though, even though I wouldn’t stop talking about it, I didn’t take any of the food with me :).

Volunteering always make me feel like I am starting the day off on the right foot. It also makes me feel verrryyy hungry (especially after staring at food all morning!), and tired. After a lunch consisting of a sweet potato, an apple, and pretzels dipped in Laughing Cow Cheese (it’s so good), I’m ready for a nap. And maybe a walk in the sunshine. I love that it is 50* and sunny!

Up today on the blog challenge is Day 18, my beliefs. I realize that I have skipped the challenge over the past couple of days, so I’m a little behind. I’m going to finish what I started though; it would drive me crazy if I didn’t :)!

I feel like asking for my beliefs is such a broad topic, so I will keep my answers fairly broad, as well.

1. I believe in a higher power. I feel that there is a God who has a vision larger than one we could ever have for ourselves.

2. I believe in love.

loving parents

loving sisters

and loving friends (and boyfriend :)).

3. I believe that everything happens for a reason.

4. I believe that we are only as happy as we make our minds up to be, and that sometimes we need to pull ourselves out of a situation, or put ourselves in a situation, to find true happiness.

5. I believe that chocolate can cure a bad day, and exercise creates a high that no drug is capable of reaching.

6. I believe in telling the truth, staying true to myself, and working hard to reach my goals.

7. I believe in laughing until my stomach hurts, eating dessert for breakfast, and splurging when the occasion calls for it.

Speaking of splurging, my sisters and I have decided to go to The Loft Restaurant at Trader’s Point Creamery tonight. It’s a rare occasion when we’re all free to go to dinner together, and we’ve been wanting to try this restaurant for awhile. After taking a quick peek at their dinner menu, I am realizing that this will most definitely be a “splurge” trip. However, the good thing about having sisters is having the ability to split entrees. More suited to our budget, more room for dessert ;).

I think I will try to get out in the sunshine before I have to get ready to go out tonight. I’m moving a little slow after this morning’s service project, and some Vitamin D just might do the trick. I might as well enjoy this weather while it lasts (which may not be for long)!

What has been your best volunteering experience/ What do you believe in?

 

 

4 Responses to “I believe in Quaker Oatmeal Squares”

  1. Jess February 19, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

    I started volunteering to tutor Turkish refugees not that long ago, and I love it!! They are so hard working, so it is really rewarding.

  2. Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots February 21, 2011 at 5:05 pm #

    This made my day 🙂 I’ve been feeling slightly down today (it’s a long story I shan’t bore you with teh details lol) and this was really what I needed… The I believe in love pictures are beyond adorable. 🙂

    My fave volunteering experience, hmm… I think handing out sandwiches to homeless people in San Francisco. They always had really interesting stories to tell and clearly appreciated the effort.


    n

    • perfectionisnthappy February 21, 2011 at 7:20 pm #

      Aw, I’m glad that I could brighten up your day…that makes my day :).

  3. Katie February 22, 2011 at 5:40 pm #

    I volunteered at an Aged Care Facility, until I was old enough to have a job there. Just being with them was very rewarding, some of them didn’t get visitors or hardly had anyone to visit them, so talking to them about anything (they mainly wanted to know about me), made their day better. I was also school prefect in high school, so we had to do a certain amount of voluteering for that, but it was the school’s choice.

Leave a Reply

