Delicious food and a few facts

19 Feb

Last night I consumed a generous amount of delicious food at The Loft. If you’re ever in the Indianapolis area, I highly recommend it. All of the ingredients are organic and home grown. Although I heard the meat is excellent, I went vegetarian and had a cup of the butternut squash soup and a salad with house dressing.

(Sorry about the photo quality, the lighting was extremely dim)

The soup basically tasted like fall in a cup. I quickly realized that I should have ordered a bowl instead of a cup. It was just that good. I also ordered the flourless chocolate torte, which I scarfed down ate before any photos could be taken. It was so smooth and rich, that it should have been shared between two. My sister and I made the rookie mistake of each ordering our own, but it worked out, because we each shared with our other sister, who ordered ice cream. Next time I plan to try the blackberry ice cream. I’m already talking Jordan into taking me there soon. I received a coupon for “buy 2 entrees get 1 dessert free,” so that’s the argument I’m going with :).

Also yesterday, the lovely Michelle over at Living, Learning, Earning tagged me in this award:

The Rules

1. Link the person who awarded you (check out Michelle’s blog!).

2. Post 7 random facts about yourself.

3. Pass the award on to 7 other bloggers.

Fun, right? So, here we go, 7 random facts:

1. I taught myself to play guitar. My ex-boyfriend taught me the basic chords that I needed to know so that it sounded like I knew what I was doing, and I taught myself the rest. There were also a few lessons thrown in there from my old youth pastor, but I learned that I do perfectly fine with a paperback guitar book and some online help (I save money that way, too!).

2. When I was in fifth grade I won the D.A.R.E. essay contest on why I wanted to remain drug free. Part of my award was having the opportunity to read my essay in front of the fifth grade class and our families. At this time, my teachers started telling me how much potential I had as a writer. Today, I share this story in my interviews :).

3. I don’t like onions. I order everything “with no onions, please,” and if they forget, I almost always send it back. Picking off onions is not fun, and I find that the taste always remains.

4. When I was around this age,

my mom took me out of the stroller while she was shopping in the mall. I wanted to “be a big girl” and walk beside her, but I still had a slight toddle when I walked, and ended up falling onto a clothes rack. This resulted in a deep gash to my forehead, and 40 stitches. Thankfully, my parents had a plastic surgeon do the stitches and there is barely a scar there today.

5. I always have a robe and slippers on hand at my house. Even if I’m already fully dressed. I’m convinced that I’m cold blooded ;).

6. My room is surrounded in photos. Photos of friends, family, and of course, my boyfriend. Because of this, I often buy new, cute frames whenever I see them on sale. I’m reaching the point of too many.

7. My favorite cookbook is The Amish Cook’s Baking Book.

I received it last year for Christmas, and I have worked my way through almost every recipe. Jordan and I were long distance last year, and every weekend I visited him at school I would bring a new treat for him and his roommates to test taste. When they graduated, his roommates actually told me that they were going to miss my baking :).

So, that’s me :). I am going to pass this award along to:

Holly @ The Balance Broad

Kristen @ That Hoosier Girl

Amy @ The Scene From Me

Nicole @ Of Cookies and Carrots

Jess @ A Taste of Confidence

Lauren @ runyogarepeat

Stacie @ Sugar and Sneakers

I should really get out of bed now. My goal was to make it to Zumba this morning, but I have yet to eat breakfast. Thankfully, it looks like it will be a nice day for an outdoor workout!

Happy Saturday!

13 Responses to “Delicious food and a few facts”

  1. Kristen @ That Hoosier Girl February 19, 2011 at 10:56 am #

    I’m so glad you liked The Loft! Definitely go for the blackberry ice cream next time! You won’t be disappointed! It’s a GREAT place for a fun, daytime date in the summer. You can do a little tour of the farm and eat a light lunch outside of the actual restaurant upstairs. Also, thanks for the tag!!! Have a great weekend!

    • perfectionisnthappy February 20, 2011 at 12:32 pm #

      Yes, I definitely want to go back in the summer! You’re welcome! Thank you, you too!

  2. runyogarepeat February 19, 2011 at 1:36 pm #

    Aw thanks! I have so many pictures hanging up in my room too. Isn’t it nice not to be long distance? My boyfriend & I did the long distance thing last year too.

  3. Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots February 19, 2011 at 5:13 pm #

    Aww yay! Thanks for tagging me πŸ™‚ it was so fun to read all this about you! πŸ™‚

    I def have taught myself to play a few instruments over the years haha it’s kind of rewarding πŸ˜‰

    ❀
    n

  4. Jess February 19, 2011 at 11:16 pm #

    Thanks hun! I want to try a look at that cookbook:)

    • perfectionisnthappy February 20, 2011 at 12:33 pm #

      You’re welcome! You should…all of the desserts seem to be crowd pleasers πŸ™‚

  5. Stacie@sugarandsneakers February 21, 2011 at 7:20 am #

    Thanks for the tag! I know what my next blog post will be now! haha

  6. Katie February 22, 2011 at 6:01 pm #

    I’m glas that you enjoyed The Loft, I doubt I will ever be “in the area” though to try it out. Maybe one day when I’m rich and famous!! πŸ™‚

  7. dressed2dish February 22, 2011 at 9:23 pm #

    Loved getting to know more about you!! πŸ™‚

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. seven versatile facts? « Of Cookies & Carrots - February 21, 2011

    […] other news, I was tagged by the lovely Emily over at Perfection Isn’t Happy (so true, so true!) for one blogger award, and by Britt over at BrittFit (love her!) for another […]

Leave a Reply

