On birth control and brats

23 Feb

Is it bad that every time I get in an overly grumpy/emotional mood, or start craving endless amounts of chocolate, I check my birth control pills to see if I can blame it on “that time of the month”? Because I do. And if I’m a week away from the little white placebos, I don’t feel so bad about the extra chocolate that is circulating through my body, or the mid-afternoon cry due to “feeling like a fat blob.” Yeah, I definitely cried  about that on the way to the gym today. It’s no wonder I feel that way though, with all the chocolate I’ve been consuming.

More recently though, I began to wonder if my birth control is to blame for some of my mood swings (when I’m no where near the time of the “little white placebos”). I recently read Chelsey’s blog post about birth control. She had a bad experience with it, and after I started educating myself of the topic, I realized that I may fall into the “bad experience” category, as well.

I began taking the pill about two and half years ago because of pains I had been getting in my lower abdomen since I was about thirteen. My doctor decided to put me on the pill, telling me that if the pains stopped, they were most likely a symptom of endometriosis (the only way to actually test for this is through a laparoscopy, and she didn’t want to resort to that right away). Thankfully, after a month or so, the pain stopped. But everything else was out of control…for at least four months. I had mood swings that made me feel like I was going crazy (just ask my family), my periods were irregular, I had a slight weight gain, and heart palpitations. Although my periods are now regular and my weight is healthy, I still have mood swings that I feel are uncontrollable, and the heart palpitations have yet to go away. After reading that Chelsey also had this side effect while taking a generic of Yaz (also what I am taking), I am beginning to wonder if my chest pains are due to my pill, rather than my anxious mind (I just thought it was anxiety). After having a talk with my mom, and doing little research of my own, I have decided that I will most likely be going off the pill at the end of the month. I can no longer rationalize the extra hormones pumping through my body, and I’m kind of curious to see what will happen if I let my body go back to normal (praying that if the pains come back, they aren’t as bad as they used to be). Unfortunately, I will no longer be able to check my pill pack to justify my mood swings, but I think I can figure that one out on my own ;).

Okay, enough of the girl talk. Let me get back to the blog challenge (it’s been awhile)! I am now on Day 19- disrepecting my parents.

Ah, being the oldest child, the rule-follower, the people pleaser that I am, you would think that I’m always a little angel and would never do anything to hurt my parents, right? Well…maybe. Although I have never done anything extreme to disrespect my parents, I am guilty of little outbursts, resulting in disappointment, here and there.

Yeah, that’s me, ruining the picture with a little head tilt and a tongue. I am the kid who never did anything wrong at school, but would let all of my emotions out at home. It was only natural, I suppose. I was painfully shy around anyone other than my family. This remained true at school, dance class, Girl Scouts, and any other after school activity I happened to be involved in at the time. But at home, I was my (sometimes obnoxious) self. And after bottling up eight or so hours of emotions and energy every day, I would let my feelings go, completely out in the open, at home. Often times, my little outburts resulted in getting sent to my room, which resulted in me saying hurtful things to my parents, almost always things that I never meant (“I hate you” or “You are the meanest in the world”-  did not mean it, and not true).

Does this make me feel bad? Of course it does. I always wanted to be more like my middle sister, the “always considerate and kind” daughter, or my youngest sister, the “too cute to ever hurt anyone’s feelings” daughter. Instead, I was the “oldest child craving to be the center of attention” daughter, annoying my parents, making them say things like, “God brought us the second and the third to reward us for dealing with the first.” Okay, so maybe they don’t say that, but I’ve seen our home videos; they probably should.

So there ya have it. I never stole, never smoked, never skipped school (well, maybe once or twice, but I was at least slightly sick, and my mom called the office for me), never did anything to completely and utterly upset my parents, besides being a bit of brat at times.

I’m lucky that love outweighs “bratty.”

At least, I’m pretty sure it does?

Thoughts about/experiences with birth control? Were you/are you ever “bratty”?

14 Responses to “On birth control and brats”

  1. cleaneatingchelsey February 23, 2011 at 6:58 am #

    Wow – I have goosebumps all over my body with the thought that my story has actually touched someone else. It is so great that you educated yourself and began taking your health into your own hands. One thing that irks me about doctors is they resort to medicine instead of finding the root of the problem (something I’m going through now – they wanted me to take hormones again to get a period?!). Just like you when you were 13 – they wanted you to take medicine instead of actually finding the cause. That frustrates me about the health system we’ve got going on over here!

  2. perfectionisnthappy February 23, 2011 at 8:29 am #

    It did, I was so glad that you shared your story! It bothers me too! Doctors should not be masking medical problems with pills. In the long run, it’s only going to hurt us.

  3. Jess February 23, 2011 at 10:30 am #

    All of the birth control stories circulating around the blog world are actually worrying me a bit! I’m on a low dose birth control pill, and I wonder what it is doing to my body or what it may be masking. I went on it for irregular bleeding, but now I am not sure if I should have looked into that more instead of trying to fix it with the pill. I am thinking about going off of it for a while and making sure all is okay.

    Thanks for sharing your story!

    • perfectionisnthappy February 23, 2011 at 3:03 pm #

      You’re welcome! I like hearing others’ stories. I am surprised at how many doctors prescribe birth control for reasons other than “birth control.” It seems like it’s almost too easy to get the medication prescribed!

  4. Michelle February 23, 2011 at 4:31 pm #

    I tried birth control pills awhile back and hated how they made me feel. Then I switched to Nuvaring, which I actually like a lot better. It didn’t make me feel so weird, it helped my cramps practically disappear, and I didn’t notice any mood swings. It’s kind of a weird concept, but it can be a good option if pills just don’t work well for you.

    • perfectionisnthappy February 23, 2011 at 11:20 pm #

      I’ve never considered it before, but I’ll keep it in mind. Thanks!

  5. runyogarepeat February 23, 2011 at 6:55 pm #

    I notice them affecting my mood somewhat, but it’s not too bad. It’s definitely worse in the week before the white pills (uhh now), but I can handle the slight mood swings. I think it would be terrible if I ate like crap & didn’t exercise though. I’m just worried about in a few years when I want to have kids, and I discover a problem that birth control covered up.

  6. thebalancebroad February 23, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

    I have only been on the pill once and it wasn’t for very long, so unfortunately I don’t have any good advice. 😦 Do you think you could talk about it with your doctor? I know sometimes people have to try different pills before they find one that doesn’t affect them badly. 4 of my friends were on a certain kind of pill that make them so depressed….finally they all talked to each other and switched!

    I was kind of a brat when I was a kid (I was the youngest, that’s my excuse). 😉 Thankfully my parents were very strict with us and kept us all in check…or so I think!

    • perfectionisnthappy February 23, 2011 at 11:24 pm #

      Yeah, my prescription is almost up, so I’m going to have to talk to my doctor if I do decide that I want a refill.

  7. Stacie@sugarandsneakers February 23, 2011 at 7:54 pm #

    I went on birth control for a few months and I gained nearly 20 lbs. I started at 113 and went to 130. I wasn’t eating more or anything. It was simply the hormones. (My boobs did get bigger which was a plus!) After that experience, I’m kind of put off my birth control pills.

    • perfectionisnthappy February 23, 2011 at 11:29 pm #

      I went through that too! My boobs got bigger within a couple of months (I just wasn’t going to mention that, haha)…I guess that’s normal because one of my friends told me she had to go up over a cup size when she starting taking birth control! Doesn’t that almost seem like steroids, for girls? It’s interesting…

  8. Katie February 23, 2011 at 10:24 pm #

    I am on implanon, which is that little rod that is inserted into your arm. I am also the rare lucky one of never having a monthly visitor, no outbreaks of the horrid pimples, and I even lost wait on it. So I of course would reccomend this to anybody, although if you aren’t in the rare 1% like me, then you can have some very bad experiences.

    • perfectionisnthappy February 23, 2011 at 11:32 pm #

      Hmm… I’m not that familiar with that. I am taking the pill for pain issues, so I’m not sure if it would work for that either? I just think I’d feel better if I figured out the cause of my pain first…

  9. Katie February 24, 2011 at 5:35 pm #

    You should do that, as it could be something more serious than what the doctor first thought.

Leave a Reply

