Relax a little

26 Feb

This week has kind of been…blah. I don’t want to be a “Debbie Downer”, but I have only left the house to go to school or work, and the rest of my time has been spent in my room, doing homework. I’ve been justifying egg and cheese sandwiches and cereal as healthy balanced dinners, and eating while simultaneously typing papers and rushing to meet deadlines. One night I was so engrossed in my homework that by the time I looked at the clock it was 9:30pm and I had yet to eat dinner. Everyone keeps reminding me that I “only have 2 1/2 months” left. But when you’re caught up in the moment, it’s sometimes hard to see the larger picture, you know?

Even though I still have a pile of homework waiting to be finished, I have to let myself take a break. I stress myself out too much, and I know that everything will get done, somehow. So, in honor of this “letting myself relax thing” (that everyone tells me I really should try), today I will:

1. Eat a Panera Cinnamon Crunch bagel.

My mom bought five of them yesterday, for our family to eat this morning. Who can pass up a special treat delivered by Mom ;)? Carbs make everything better. Okay, not everything, but you know what I mean.

2. Go to Zumba

Carbs may “make everything better,” but Zumba shows those carbs who’s boss ;). Although taking the time to write this blog post may make me a little late to my class, oops…

3. Eat Panera again

My mom may have stopped in there yesterday, but I did not. I have been craving broccoli cheddar soup since last weekend, and after seeing how stressed out I’ve been, Jordan suggested we go to Panera for lunch today. Is it weird that I look forward to eating soup? Because I do.

4. Do homework

Just a little, with breaks in between. The more I get done today, the less I have to worry about tomorrow.

5. Eat pizza with my family

Every Saturday night my family orders in pizza. We rarely have the chance to eat together any other day of the week because of our busy schedules, so it’s kind of a little tradition of ours.

Yeah, so maybe I plan to eat restaurant food three times today, but that’s part of “relaxing,” isn’t it? And I consider Panera healthy, so it doesn’t completely count :).

I have really got to get going if I’m going to make it to Zumba. Happy Saturday (relax a little)!

7 Responses to “Relax a little”

  1. tknologlvr February 26, 2011 at 11:24 am #

    Pizza and Panera! Yum.

  2. Stacie@sugarandsneakers February 26, 2011 at 12:24 pm #

    When the soup is from Panera then there is nothing wrong with looking forward to soup!

    Hope you enjoy your Saturday and have some fun to de-stress!

  3. thebalancebroad February 27, 2011 at 10:14 am #

    Don’t worry at all about being a Debbie Downer – you are completely entitled to vent whenever and wherever! I know the stress you must have as a (very dedicated) student….I will be honest in that I don’t miss those days. BUT keep reminding yourself that spring break will be here soon (I hope??)!

    • perfectionisnthappy February 27, 2011 at 10:45 pm #

      Yes…it’ll be here in 11 days (not that I have a countdown going, or anything ;)). And thank you…I don’t think I’ll miss the homework part of these days either!

  4. Jess February 27, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

    don’t worry about venting- i completely understand. i love panera, though!

Leave a Reply

