I need a goal

28 Feb

I have decided that I need a goal. A workout goal, that is. Recently, my time has been limited, and because of the lack of sleep that is a result of limited time,  I find myself hitting the snooze button more often than I jump out of bed and throw on my workout clothes. Although I believe that sleep is crucial for my overall well-being, my workouts are just as important to me. I get pretty grumpy and feel extra sluggish without them.

While I don’t see any marathons in my future, I am thinking a 5K might be a good goal for me. I have ran a few 5Ks in my lifetime, as well as one 10K…but I did all of them without training. In my case, it truly was mind over matter and finished I all of the races in a decent amount of time, but I know the “not training” method was not the best for my body. As I’m sure every runner would tell me the same. As the weather warms up, I am going to begin searching races in my area. I am doing a couple of races for charity in March and April, but I planned on walking those. I’m thinking May or June might be a good goal for me? I’m not a runner, so getting through a 5K (this time, without cramps or shin splints) will be an accomplishment. Any other non-runners (or runners) want to join me in reaching this goal ;)?

On another note, I am behind (yet again) on the 30 Day Challenge. Today is Day 22, how I’ve changed in the past two years.

As a college student, in this “in-between” part of life, I feel that I’ve changed a lot in the past two years.

I’ve grown stronger in my relationship with my wonderful boyfriend.

With that, I have learned that I cannot always get my way (despite my stubborn ways, he is right sometimes :)), and I have learned to communicate more effectively.

I have changed my major from Elementary Education to Communication Studies. This has allowed me to follow my passion- exploring career options in writing, and landing an internship as an editorial intern.

I have come that much closer to graduating (only two months+a couple of weeks away!).

And I have tried my best to enjoy the journey of it all. I say “tried my best” because I do have perfectionist tendencies (obviously), and I do get upset when things don’t go as I would have hoped. I’m learning to embrace change and the experience of it all as I go along.

I can only hope that the next two years will bring just as much, if more, happiness :).

Do you have any workout goals?/How have you changed in the past two years?

 

6 Responses to “I need a goal”

  1. Jess February 28, 2011 at 3:04 pm #

    Strength training is probably my biggest workout goal right now- just to do it!

  2. Katie February 28, 2011 at 4:46 pm #

    My workout goal is to try and do Zumba once a week, I have the dvds so I don’t get embarrassed out in public.

  3. Stacie@sugarandsneakers February 28, 2011 at 7:00 pm #

    My workout goal is to rock my first half marathon in April.
    Short-term? I have a duathlon in 2 weeks that I’m prepping for like a crazy woman!

    • perfectionisnthappy March 1, 2011 at 12:09 am #

      I actually had to google duathlon to see what it was, but now I know! Good luck, I’m sure you’ll do great…that seems intense!

  4. thebalancebroad February 28, 2011 at 10:00 pm #

    I’m with Jess….I SO need to be a lot better about strength training. :-/ I go in waves…sometimes I’m consistent, but lately, not so much!

    I think having a race to train for is a GREAT goal! I always find (although I am nerdy like this) that I look forward to my runs when I have training schedule and can “cross” them off. 🙂

    • perfectionisnthappy March 1, 2011 at 12:11 am #

      I agree with both of you…I’m so much better about cardio than I am about strength training. Hehe, not nerdy at all..I’m the type of person that loves making lists so I can cross things off!

Leave a Reply

