Pretty food and Galloway’s method

1 Mar

Can you believe that March is already here? Where does the time go? I can’t say that I’m complaining;  I am ready for warmer weather and more daylight. I left the gym at 6:00 tonight and it was still light outside! Spring is just around the corner :).

You may or may not know that March is National Nutrition Month. In recognition of this, I have placed the eatright.org banner on my sidebar, raising awareness for NNM. I am currently researching the topic of NNM for our March issue at work, and I came across the site, which encourages bloggers to write their personal stories about what “Eat Right with Color” means.

(Source)

I like food. I believe in eating healthy. So I thought, why not :)?

To me, eating with color means keeping a balance. It may be tempting to fill a plate with mashed potatoes, macaroni and cheese, and corn on the cob, to form a stylish beige/yellow theme, though I am not sure that’s the point of “eating with color” ;). I like a plate that’s appealing to the eye, filled with different colors, much like something you might see on a color wheel in art class. I have been known to eat a little bit of green (spinach, perhaps?), a little bit of orange (sweet potato?), and a little bit of red (an apple?) on more than one occasion at lunch time. I like to throw in some dairy and protein every once in awhile as well, bringing in some white- Greek yogurt, and brown- almonds. Obviously I don’t eat these exact foods everyday, nor do I eat them all individually. Tonight I had baked ziti with vegetables for dinner (made with love by my sister :)), and in that one dish there was almost every color you could think of, from the red of the tomatoes to the orange of the cheese sprinkled on top. When you think about it, without a variety of colors, food is really not that pretty. Can food be “pretty”?

So there you have it; to me, eating with color is all about the balance, and of course, looking pretty ;).

On another “getting healthy for spring” note, you may remember that yesterday I mentioned that I need a workout goal. I really didn’t waste any time on this one. Once I have my mind set on something, I like to get going. After doing my research, and deciding that my goal will in fact be training for, and completing, a 5K (the proper way), I have decided to go with the 7-week training schedule for beginners, created by Jeff Galloway. Even though I workout regularly, I rarely run, and I figured it’d be best to start with a beginner program. I have also seen a few other bloggers use Galloway’s training method, so I am hoping that it works well for me. I plan to make a page dedicated to my training program, so if you’d like to follow along with me, feel free! I do realize, to many of you seasoned runners, a 5K may seem like nothing, but everyone has to start somewhere, right :)?

Week 1 looks like this:

7-week training schedule

Week 1 On run/walk days, walkers walk only. Runners run for 15 seconds/walk for 45 seconds.
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Run/walk 30 minutes Walk 30 minutes Run/walk 30 minutes Walk 30 minutes Rest Run/walk 3 miles (4.8 km) Rest/ walk

I thought March 1st was a perfect time to start the program, so after work, I headed to the gym. I began with the Tuesday workout;  I decided that it wouldn’t hurt me if I missed one day of the schedule. Walking 30 minutes seemed like an easy task to me, and since I’ve been eating a little too much chocolate, and had not worked out since Sunday, I felt that it wouldn’t hurt me to amp up the workout a little. I began with 15 minutes on the ArcTrainer, and then moved to the treadmill, where I walked for 30 minutes at a brisk pace, changing inclines occasionally.

Right now the training schedule seems a little mundane, but I know it will keep me motivated on days when I don’t feel like going to the gym, and I like that I’m working toward something that is in no way associated with graduation :). I haven’t decided which race I want to participate in yet, but there are several options in my area…I am sure I will decide soon enough, when I am researching 5Ks instead of studying for tomorrow’s History of Television midterm ;).

Speaking of that midterm, I really should start studying. Although, my professor didn’t give us our study guide until 5:30 last night (admitting she had not even written the exam yet), so I don’t think she’d be too disappointed in the fact that I’m waiting until 8:30, the night before the exam, to begin looking over my notes.

Procrastinators stick together ;).

 

Do you have any fitness or nutrition goals for March?

 

 

15 Responses to “Pretty food and Galloway’s method”

  1. thebalancebroad March 1, 2011 at 8:56 pm #

    Oh, Jim….I’d procrastinate with him any old time. 🙂

    It’s so fun to read about you starting your plan! I have read SO many wonderful things about the Galloway method. I can’t wait to hear what you think about it, too!

    Hmmm….goals for March: swim and strength train more; the 2 things I always put off… :-/

    • perfectionisnthappy March 2, 2011 at 7:50 am #

      I know, I’m excited to see how I like it! I always find swimming to be relaxing once I get going! I wish my gym had a pool!

  2. Stacie@sugarandsneakers March 2, 2011 at 9:27 am #

    Jim…what a little hottie!

    My goal for March is to finish my duathlon in one piece! haha

    • perfectionisnthappy March 2, 2011 at 3:10 pm #

      I know, isn’t he :)? I’m sure you’ll do great! That would be tough, but you’ve been preparing for it!

  3. Michelle March 2, 2011 at 9:42 am #

    Congrats on making this goal! That’s such a great step! My current goal is to finish my first race ever as well… it’s definitely motivated me to get running knowing that I have a race in 2 weeks. Good luck with the training- you’ll be great 🙂

  4. tknologlvr March 2, 2011 at 10:10 am #

    Jeff puts out great information. I got to meet him last year. I believe he’s been running for 30 years without injury. Take those walk breaks!

    • perfectionisnthappy March 2, 2011 at 3:11 pm #

      Wow! 30 years without injury?? I have friends from high school that had to end their running career before high school was even over, because of injury! I will enjoy those walk breaks 🙂

  5. Jess March 2, 2011 at 2:49 pm #

    I want to run outside! Great goals and training plan:)

  6. Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots March 2, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

    yay for colors! I love colorful foods 🙂 i wrote my overall goals in my post recently… mainly i need to get myself to the gym more (i’ve kind of not been going for awhile) and i need to quit the diet soda addiction!!

  7. melanie March 2, 2011 at 8:56 pm #

    Yay for eating in color! Neat blog, Emily. Good for you! I’ve been getting more into eating in color lately too. I’m obsessed with this Author and all of her cookbooks…you should check her out! This is her latest book. The recipe in it for edaname soup is my favorite so far 🙂

    http://www.colormevegan.com/index.html

    I hope I figured out how to post on here…

    • perfectionisnthappy March 3, 2011 at 7:00 am #

      Thanks for reading my blog, Mel! And thanks for the link, I love edaname! Since Molly went vegetarian, I have gradually begin to remove meat from my diet…I really can’t remember the last time I had it!

  8. Colleen @ The Lunchbox Diaries March 3, 2011 at 7:11 am #

    That’s so great that you’re training for a 5k! Don’t worry about what kinds of races other people have ran. You’re going to be great! Good luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

