Blessing in disguise

4 Mar

Rainy Mondays might get me down, but rainy Fridays are a blessing in disguise. Friday is my day off from school and work, which means no alarm clock is needed. Rain always makes me sleep more soundly, and I slept in until 9:00 today! I cannot remember the last time I slept in this late, but I’m not complaining, it felt pretty really good. I plan to spend the day catching up on homework, cleaning, and baking an apple pie- crust and all- from scratch. I’m using a recipe from my favorite cookbook, The Amish Cook’s Baking Book. There’s something so comforting about baking on a rainy day, don’t you think?  It’s even better when I can get my hands in the soft, floury dough, and have the faint smell of cinnamon and apples on my skin for the rest of the day. I find baking to be therapeutic :).

Before I go dust and vacuum my room (not like I’m putting it off or anything…), here is day 24 of the blog challenge: my favorite movie and what it’s about.

I’m not a big movie watcher, but when I do find a movie that I like, I usually watch it over and over (and over). The movie that ranks highest in this “watching over and over category” is probably How to Lose a Guy in Ten Days. I watched it all the time in high school, and continued the trend in college. It’s my go-to comfort movie. If you haven’t seen it, it features Kate Hudson and Matthew McConaughey as Andie Anderson and Benjamin Berry.

Ben bets that he can make a woman fall in love with him in ten days. Andie is a writer for “Composure” magazine, who decides to write an article about “losing a guy in ten days” by making common mistakes that many women make in the dating world (being whiny, needy, bringing pink and stuffed animals into the bedroom, etc.). Ben and Andie end up meeting each other in a bar, and the obvious happens; they begin dating and eventually fall in love.

It may be slightly predictable, but it’s funny, and Hudson and McConaughey are pretty darn cute together :).

Okay, it is now pushing noon and I am still in my pajamas. I’d say it’s time for me to get up and start cleaning. More details on the apple pie later :).

What do you like to do on rainy days?/What’s your favorite movie?

 

4 Responses to “Blessing in disguise”

  1. Jess March 4, 2011 at 12:40 pm #

    I like that movie, too. It’s cute! I like to read on rainy days:)

  2. thebalancebroad March 5, 2011 at 6:01 am #

    I LOVE that movie! I think they are so cute together….I always hoped they would end up together IRL. 🙂

    Hmmm….favorite movie would either be “Airplane!” or “Pride & Prejudice.” I know, 2 completely different genres, but I love them both!

    On rainy days I love to stay inside and either watch movies or bake/cook. I try to avoid going out at all costs because I hate driving in the rain!

  3. Just Ramblin' Pier March 5, 2011 at 7:40 pm #

    My girls and I always watch this movie whenever we get the chance. It is a great way to spend “girl time”!

  4. Allie's Adventures Getting Fit and Fabulous March 6, 2011 at 1:27 am #

    Aww..I love that movie too. It’s so cute! Rainy days are definitely great for watching movies and baking and sleeping, of course.

Leave a Reply

