He’s inspiring

6 Mar

It’s the week before spring break which means that I am sooo busy. Excited, of course :), but busy. I attended a Communication Studies Alumni Conference at school yesterday, and because of this, I had the privilege of being out the door by 8am on a Saturday. The conference ended up being informative- I listened to panels of alumni speak about their experience after graduating: the job search process, choosing to go to grad school, etc. And then I got a complimentary lunch- marinated veggies on pita bread (with feta cheese sprinkled on top-yum)! I was surprised that they even had a veggie option available, but I was more surprised at how good it tasted! I wanted to take a photo, because it just looked that good, but I didn’t know the people sitting at my table very well, and I didn’t want them to think I was a weirdo ;).

After the conference, I came home and crashed. It’s “that time of the month” (if you know what I mean) and lack of sleep mixed with my busy Saturday schedule was not agreeing with the cramps that I already had going on (TMI?). Luckily, I felt much better after I slept, and was able to make it to the gym before it closed to finish day 6 of Galloway’s training schedule. My goal was to do the walk/run intervals for three miles (like the plan says), but the endorphins kicked in and made me feel so much better, so I kept going, and completed 3.5 miles in 44 minutes, including my warm-up and cool down. I was afraid that my cramps were going to get the best of me, but they were gone by the time I finished working out. Now I know why my mom would always make me get up and go for a walk when I was curled up in a ball, complaining of cramps, in junior high and high school (Mom always ends up being right, doesn’t she?).

Okay, enough of the cramps talk :). Today is day 25 of the blog challenge: someone who fascinates me and why.

At first I thought I’d be cliche and say “my parents.” But it goes without saying that I am appreciative of everything they’ve done for me over the years. After giving it some more thought, this book came to mind.

If you have never read it, you should. Like, today. Randy Pausch wrote The Last Lecture for his wife and kids when he knew he was dying. Anyone who has the courage to write an inspirational book when he knows he is dying is “fascinating” in my book.

Lately I have been feeling down because of the change that I know will occur after I graduate, the change that is occuring in general as I get older, as everyone around me gets older. I do not know how to handle change well. Which is why I should take my own advice and read Pausch’s book again. While his lecture is available on YouTube (have Kleenex on hand if you choose to watch it), I like reading the book because I can go back to all of the highlights and notes that I made the first time that I read it. (Yes, I take notes in my books…)

While I could explain why Pausch is a fascinating person in my own words, I don’t think my words could do him justice-  that’s why I strongly encourage you to read the book, or watch the clip.

(Source)

This man had the courage to say goodbye to those curly-headed cuties. He had the courage to say goodbye to his loving wife. And he did it in a way that will have him remembered forever. His children will have something to remember him by, his lessons to live by. He passed away about a year after his ‘last lecture’, but his memory will live on forever .

Who fascinates or inspires you?

I did not mean to get too sappy, or discourage you by mentioning tears. His story is not so much a sad one, as it is inspiring. He teaches some valuable lessons that everyone deserves to hear.

 

4 Responses to “He’s inspiring”

  1. Colleen @ The Lunchbox Diaries March 6, 2011 at 3:44 pm #

    The last lecture video gets me every time. What an inspirational man! I’m not going to watch it again today because I don’t feel like crying. But as someone who just graduated college (and also hates change with a passion), let me tell you: BE EXCITED! The world is about to be at your finger tips and you’ll be able to accomplish anything you set your mind to. It’s such an awesome feeling 🙂 And don’t be embarrassed about taking pictures of your food around strangers – it’s a great conversation starter (and a way to promote yourself!)

    • perfectionisnthappy March 7, 2011 at 6:46 am #

      Thank you…it makes me feel better when I hear other people say “it’s going to be okay,” or something close to it :).

  2. thebalancebroad March 6, 2011 at 10:09 pm #

    I read that book and completely, 100% agree. I can’t believe I’ve never watched the video! I am SURE I will sob throughout the whole thing. But there is truly so much to learn from someone whose life is being put into perspective by being faced with death. It sounds morbid that way, but I love how he made me think about things I take for granted all of the time!

    • perfectionisnthappy March 7, 2011 at 6:48 am #

      I know, I can’t re-watch the video because it makes me cry, but it is worth seeing one time!

Leave a Reply

