Clearing it up

10 Mar

First things first. I want to thank all of you for your support and kind words over the last few weeks, regarding my anxiety related to school. It means so much to me; I know you’re probably tired of hearing it! The truth is, while it may seem like I dislike my classes, I don’t. I care about school, actually, have a passion for it. If I didn’t, do you think I would put in so much time and energy worrying about it?

As much as I say that I’m looking forward to graduation, I know I will miss it. School has always come first for me. It has come before work, before extracurriculars, even before family and friends (sorry guys). If I didn’t work as hard as I do, I wouldn’t have the opportunity to be the secretary of Lambda Pi Eta- the Communication Honor Society, or graduate with high honors in May. I guess part of me knows that this is all coming to an end soon, which is why I am trying to push myself even harder, hence the (above average) anxiety. The exciting thing is, once this is over I know I will get to put just as much time and energy into a career. I’m not going to let all the hard work that I put in for my degree go to waste ;).

Alright, now that I’ve cleared that up, let me remind you, I am now technically on spring break! I have one more online exam that is due Friday, but I can take it from the comfort of my own room, which makes me feel better about it. I took my other midterms yesterday morning, and I think that they went pretty well; now I’m just looking forward :).

You know why I think they went so well? Well, for one, I studied my butt off. And two, I ate a good breakfast. When I was little, my mom always made me a big breakfast on days that I had tests.  Although my mom didn’t make this breakfast, it kept my stomach satisfied from 7am to 1pm, when I turned in that last exam packet.

In the mix:

* 1/2 cup oats

*1 cup coconut milk

* a few dollops of pumpkin (stirred in right before taking off heat)

* 1 tsp. vanilla

* 1/4 tsp. pumpkin pie spice

Toppings:

* a sprinkle of pecans

*1 tsp. brown sugar

*a sprinkle of cinnamon

* (a little more than) a few Quaker Oatmeal Squares (I like some extra crunch, and I was trying to use up the box)

I started making my oatmeal with the intention of adding chocolate and peanut butter, but changed my mind at the last minute, deciding to go the pumpkin pie route. Because of this, there ended up being too much liquid. I’d only recommend 2/3 c. milk if adding pumpkin.

And of course, a cup of green tea on the side.

A satisfying breakfast= success in test taking.

I was also able to make it to Zumba last night after class. I am now a little off my 5K training schedule, but I felt like I needed a little pick me up in the workout world, and for me, Zumba always does the trick. I’m looking into becoming certified to teach classes after graduation; I’m sure there will be more details on that later :).

Alright, it’s time for me to go pick out what I want for breakfast this morning (yeah, I get excited about breakfast). A break from school might be here, but I still have one more day of interning. I’ll be back later to catch up on the blog challenge that I’m way behind on.

Enjoy your Thursday :).

4 Responses to “Clearing it up”

  1. Colleen @ The Lunchbox Diaries March 10, 2011 at 8:04 am #

    That oatmeal looks delish! And I think everyone that reads your blog knows how much school means to you. It doesn’t sound like complaining when I read you venting about it. Everyone has felt this way about something before! Enjoy your Thursday!! xoxo

    • perfectionisnthappy March 10, 2011 at 9:20 am #

      Thank you, knowing that makes me feel better :). Enjoy yours, as well!

  2. thebalancebroad March 11, 2011 at 1:53 pm #

    You can DEFinitely tell you’re passionate about what you’re studying, since you are so focused (despite being a senior)! I had senioritis after my…..freshman year? 🙂

    Enjoy the rest of your week!

Leave a Reply

