From the comfort of home

10 Mar

Remember how I said I had an internship to get to this morning? I spoke too soon. Shortly after eating my oatmeal (today’s included PB&Co’s White Chocolate Wonderful PB and a handful of Ghirardelli bittersweet chocolate chips!) and getting ready, my boss called to tell me that her daughter is sick, and that I should work from home.  I took advantage of this situation by quickly trading my tights and dress for a pair of sweats and a sweatshirt. Then I began to work from the comfort of home.

Err, Dunkin’ Donuts. I was literally brushing my teeth, nearly ready to walk out the door when I got the call, so figured I might as well make use of the situation and leave the house anyway. I was debating between Starbucks and Dunkin’ (the only two coffee shops in town), but my sister was working at Dunkin’ this morning, and I prefer their iced coffee over Starbucks’ (sorry Sbucks, too bitter for me). It was nice getting out of the house to work, yet still being three minutes from home. I didn’t have to make the long commute, or fight the downtown traffic, which is definitely a plus! After a few hours of work, Jordan met me for lunch. My tummy is now happily settled with a bean tostada and guacamole. The Mexican restaurant just happened to be across the street from my “work.” I could get used to working from home ;).

Alright, time to get a move on this 30 day blog challenge (that has probably taken me double the amount of time that it should have). Today is Day 26: what kind of person attracts me. I loved Grace and Jess‘s idea on this one, so I thought I’d use it myself. I am attracted to someone who is:

CaringIf he doesn’t complain about baking brownies with me on the weekend, his only time off, then I know that he cares 🙂

Intelligent

He graduated from Rose-Hulman last May and is now officially a Mechanical Engineer. We spent many a weekend doing homework together, so I know how hard he worked to get that degree.

Funny

That would be my, “Oh, what is he doing now?” face. This just makes him look a little weird, so you’ll have to take my word for it; he’s funny ;).

Good with kids

Playing in the sand with his cousins. I love kids, so I’m glad that he does too 🙂

Loving

Kind of goes without saying…

Willing to Workout with Me

Although he is into sports, he gets more enthused about Call of Duty than he does exercise. But he still goes to the gym with me a few times a week, and puts a smile on his face, even if we leave for a 5K at 7am on a Saturday, which we did :).

Willing to embrace my chocolate addiction

His sweet tooth is as big as, if greater than, mine is, thank goodness. He’s also very understanding of the fact that I get pretty “hangry” if I don’t eat when I should.

Of course, there are many more things that attract me to him, but it would take awhile for me to focus on every little trait. All I have to say is, I’m glad that he stuck around. I am not always an easy person to be around :).

Alright, time to get back to some work before I jump on the treadmill for my walk/run intervals. I am so glad that it is (basically) the weekend!

Do you like working or doing homework from home, or do you prefer to go somewhere else so you can focus?

What do you find attractive (in a significant other, friend, or family member)?

 

7 Responses to “From the comfort of home”

  1. runyogarepeat March 10, 2011 at 7:02 pm #

    So cute! I have the hardest time focusing in my room.
    I am attracted to someone who is funny, fun-loving, honesty & openness, and obviously loving. I love that my boyfriend & I can talk about anything for serious moments, then have silly moments a few minutes later.

    • Emily March 10, 2011 at 9:29 pm #

      Thanks! My boyfriend and I are like that too… I definitely think a sense of humor is important in a relationship, it makes the serious stuff easier to talk about!

  2. Michelle March 10, 2011 at 9:22 pm #

    I love working from home, but I’m usually not as productive. There always seems to be a load of laundry to do, some dishes to wash, or a TV show to catch up on. Working from the coffeeshop is definitely fun too, though!

    Oh, and the pictures of you and the bf are way cute!

    • Emily March 10, 2011 at 9:28 pm #

      Exactly! TV and laundry always get in the way and it’s hard to focus. Thank you 🙂

  3. yourdailygrace March 10, 2011 at 11:04 pm #

    I LOVE all of your pictures they’re so adorable! I really like working from home because I’m lazy and don’t love getting ready in the morning or having to sit in a office all day…

  4. thebalancebroad March 11, 2011 at 1:52 pm #

    I have never actually had a job where I could work from home….well, unless you could count lesson plans when I was teaching? I think I’d definitely have to go to a library or park if I were going to be doing a lot of work – waaaay too easily distracted to work from home! 🙂

Leave a Reply

