Pajama day

14 Mar

I don’t know if it’s the time change, or the fact that I’m on spring break, but I was able to sleep in past 9am this morning. I went to bed at 10:30 last night, so I think my body must have been craving the extra sleep.  Since I have no where to go today, I’m not complaining!

It’s now past noon, and I’m still sitting my pajamas, watching Top Chef. Don’t judge ;). I’ve been taking it easy the past couple of days because I’ve been having some tummy troubles (sorry if this is TMI). You may remember me talking about the birth control debate a few weeks ago. I did end up deciding to let my body take its natural course, and sure enough, once going off the pill, the pain came back. I’m kicking myself for stopping the pill, because I did not want to have this pain, most likely caused by endometriosis, again. At the same time, it’s probably better that I get to the root of the problem sooner than later- I made an appointment to see the doctor next week. Ironically, the host of Top Chef , Padma Lakshmi, suffered with endometriosis for most of her adult life. It is nice to hear a celebrity talk about a disease that usually goes unmentioned, even though more than 10 million girls and women suffer from it. I am hoping that I can push through the pain today and do some cardio or yoga. Relaxation techniques are supposed to help, so yoga may be just what I need. (okay, female talk is over)

Since I woke up later today, I was pretty hungry by the time I got out of bed. My sister opened up a can of pumpkin last night, and was kind enough to save the rest for me to use for breakfast. I knew it would be perfect whipped into my oatmeal.

The last time I made my ‘pumpkin pie oatmeal,’ I used too much liquid. Today’s turned out much better.

Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal

1/2 cup oats

2/3 cup coconut milk

1/2 cup pumpkin

1/2 tsp. vanilla

1/2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice

Toppings:

1 tsp. brown sugar

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1 tbsp. pecans

With a cup of green tea on the side, it was a perfect way to begin my Monday morning.

I must mention that I have a new obsession with coconut milk. I used to use almond milk in my oatmeal, but coconut milk is just so white and creamy. Yes, apparently I prefer my milk to look pretty :).

I’m kind of embarrassed to admit that I’ve been sitting on the couch since breakfast; it’s now almost time for lunch! I think I’ll attempt a workout and put some laundry away before I think about my next meal.

Right after I finish this episode of Top Chef, of course :).

6 Responses to “Pajama day”

  1. IHeartVegetables March 14, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

    Woah, girl, that pumpkin pie oatmeal looks SO good! I totally want to try it. The problem is, I never go through a can of pumpkin fast enough before it goes bad! Maybe I need to start buying the small cans, haha. But next time I have some to use up, I’m going to try this recipe!

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy March 14, 2011 at 5:48 pm #

      Thank you! I know how that goes, I actually still have one serving left in the small can that was already open. But that means I can make more pumpkin oatmeal tomorrow…or pumpkin pancakes? That would be good 🙂

  2. Jess March 14, 2011 at 3:57 pm #

    Sorry your pain came back:(. I am trying to decide if I should go off, it too- so I can understand in a limited way!

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy March 14, 2011 at 5:47 pm #

      Thank you. I know, it is a hard decision! I think my hormone levels are re-adjusting, that’s the only downside.

  3. yourdailygrace March 15, 2011 at 6:20 am #

    Don’t be ashamed! Enjoy it! If it makes you feel any better I woke up at 11 yesterday…the whole spring forward thing did not go to well for me. I had never heard of endometriosis before and I think it’s okay to have a little girl talk every once in a while, we are girls after all! Hope some exercise makes you feel better and good luck with your doctors appointment!

Leave a Reply

