More pancakes and a problem

16 Mar

I cannot seem to get enough of pumpkin lately. Or pancakes.

(Yeah, I had to eat half of one before I could even take a photo)

Since I still had pumpkin leftover from my last two breakfasts, I decided to use up the can today. One can goes a long way! I modified yesterday’s pancake recipe just a little, using 2 tbsp. of pumpkin (what was left in the can) instead of a 1/4 cup, and adding a handful of Ghirardelli bittersweet chocolate chips and 1 tbsp. of chopped walnuts, instead of pecans. I also topped them with whipped cream instead of butter and syrup. Chocolate chip pancakes just call for a whipped cream topping :).

A late breakfast has kept me lounging later than usual. Lounging seems to be the theme of my spring break :). I plan to begin sending resumes out today. When I go back to school I will have six weeks left, plus finals (scary!), so I need to get a move on my job search. I had planned to get ahead on homework this week, as well, but that has yet to happen. Oh well, still a few days left to get on that!

On a different note, I have not addressed the 30 day blog challenge in awhile. I only have four days left, so even though I’m wayyy behind, I think I should finish what I started.  I have been putting off Day 27- a problem that I have had– because, well, what problem haven’t I had? It’s such a general question; I wasn’t sure what direction to take with it. Since it’s a general question, I will give a general answer.

Notice how I said “what problem haven’t I had“? Yeah, that might be a little dramatic. But sometimes I tend to be a drama queen. I also have anxiety- causing me to believe that every little unpleasant instance in my life is a “problem.” This is not something I am treated for with medication or counseling, but it is something that I work through on my own. My anxiety includes hypochondria, worry, stress related illnesses, and minor bouts of sadness. I was once told (by a doctor) that this anxiety will be relieved once I graduate, and mature mentally and emotionally with age, but it seems to run in my family. I joke with Jordan that it’s a blessing that he’s stayed with me for this long. I am not always a joy to deal with on a daily basis :).

Luckily, by doing a little of my own research, and with the help and support of my family, I’ve been able to find natural ways to deal with this. Exercise, healthy eating, healthy doses of chocolate ;), meditation (in my case, yoga and prayer), and a getting a good amount of sleep, helps to ease my anxiety. I have been known to venture into the self-help section of Barnes & Noble on occasion, as well :).Although I may consider anxiety to be my “problem,” I know other people are dealing with the same types of issues, or much worse. One more thing that eases my anxiety is thinking about other people and things much larger than myself, therefore bringing the attention off of my own issues.

(Source)

It’s hard to worry about my own problems when people in Japan are missing loved ones, not knowing what their future holds.

Check out Angela’s blog, Oh She Glows , to support her in donating to Japan’s disaster relief fund.

 

14 Responses to “More pancakes and a problem”

  1. thehealthyapron March 16, 2011 at 12:59 pm #

    I also suffer anxiety (used to be worse). I never medicated for it (don’t believe in that) but I did find alternate ways to deal with my hypochondriac tendencies (not read so much, not worry about every little bump/bruise/mark, etc, do my best to eat healthy and not worry about the rest, and exercise, and VENT to the husband). All things that have helped me NOT freak out like I used to!

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy March 16, 2011 at 5:06 pm #

      I don’t believe in medicating myself either. My mom just told me today that I need to stop reading so much because it makes me worry! I think she’s right. I’m glad that your anxiety is getting better!

  2. yourdailygrace March 16, 2011 at 2:00 pm #

    I’m right there with you on the whole anxiety thing except I do have counseling for it…all the things we mentioned are a big help, and oddly enough so is blogging! Since I am prone to anxiety I avoid the news, I live in Orlando, they’re never talking about anything good happening. So until yesterday at work I hadn’t sen any of the photos or footage from Japan and it is honestly just heart breaking to see that level of damage.

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy March 16, 2011 at 5:08 pm #

      I definitely think that blogging is a huge help! I think counseling is good too, sometimes I think that it would probably help if I talked to someone! And I can relate…I cannot watch the news…I saw the photos and footage on my Yahoo homepage. It is just so sad.

  3. Stephanie March 16, 2011 at 3:30 pm #

    Breakfast-love is one of my favourite themes on blogs! Those pancakes are lovely.

    I have a lot of empathy for people who suffer from anxiety. My very good friend has anxiety issues, and I see how crippling they can be at times. We always joke that we should meet each other halfway…I’m so laissez-faire that it causes me some serious problems sometimes. I need to worry a little bit more, and she needs to worry a little bit less.

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy March 16, 2011 at 5:09 pm #

      It would be nice if we could trade traits with our friends, wouldn’t it? I think we’d all be a little more balanced, hehe.

  4. runyogarepeat March 16, 2011 at 3:45 pm #

    I get anxious pretty easily as well, but it’s never been that bad. I think talking to someone about things helps calm me down, but then again, some thing are just SO hard to talk about.

  5. Katie March 16, 2011 at 5:32 pm #

    I have friends in Japan, from when I went there on an exchange program through my school. It is so devastating.

  6. katshealthcorner March 16, 2011 at 6:21 pm #

    Your pancakes look fabulous! 😀

    xoxo
    Kathleen

  7. Michelle March 16, 2011 at 6:59 pm #

    You have a very healthy attitude toward dealing with your anxiety. I’ve had some issues with it in the past myself, so I understand how that can feel… good for you for working so hard on overcoming it and looking at the bigger picture!

    Good luck with your job search!

Leave a Reply

