Decisions, decisions

17 Mar

First of all, I’d like to thank all of you for your helpful advice, and for sending positive vibes my way! I think my interview went well. I’m supposed to hear back within two to three weeks. This interview really got me thinking about the next chapter of my life; it will be beginning so soon :).

You know what was pretty very cool? The women interviewing me said that she’s a wellness blogger (I did not even mention anything about blogging; she started talking about it first)! She also started out her career as a temporary intern, so that was encouraging to hear.

As I was getting ready for my interview, I thought of that saying, “getting there is half the battle.” You know how people say that in reference to the gym? Well, I think it remains true in the working world. It takes a lot of time and effort in preparing resumes and cover letters, and you really have to stick out in a pile of them in order for an employer to notice you. Then, once chosen, the “getting ready” process is just as important. In my Interviewing Principles and Practices class I learned that it has been proven that employers often choose their employees based on looks. They are drawn toward taller and/or more attractive people. It may sound shallow, but I can believe it. Unfortunately, because of this, my no make-up and pajama routine would just not fly today ;). This brings me to something else that I was thinking about as I was getting ready.

My hair. Read: it might be time for a haircut. Imagine all of that hair, straightened (which rarely happens because it takes forever). When it’s straightened, it shows its true length, and let’s just say, it’s getting pretty long. Jordan and I were watching “The Ugly Truth” last night and I could not stop talking about how cute I thought Katherine Heigl’s short hair was.

(Source)

Adorable, right? It kind of makes me want to chop all of mine off. The last time I did that was two and half years ago though, so it scares me a little.

Short Hair

Long Hair

I just hate that awkward in between stage (!)…which is why I’m hesitant to cut my hair short again. Going to get a haircut can be a nightmare for an indecisive person. More often that not, I go with the typical “three inches to get all of the dead ends off, please,” and then I regret it when no one can even notice a difference.

But if my life is changing, maybe I should change my hair, too?

Decisions, decisions :).

Do you think that employers judge their employees based on looks?

What do you think- long hair or short hair?/ Do you ever feel like you just “need a change”?

 

11 Responses to “Decisions, decisions”

  1. Emily March 17, 2011 at 11:06 pm #

    Went through this SAME thing in the fall! Such a hard decision and I ended up cutting it to my shoulder! Yikes! I kinda liked it, but definitely regretted my decision. I don’t think this should discourage you, though! I just don’t like me with short hair but I’m sure you would look great! I think it’s so fresh n so clean when hair is short! …it may be nice for Spring/Summer too!

  2. Sheila March 17, 2011 at 11:07 pm #

    I am sure you look great either way. Yes, employers do judge on your looks. It should not happen but it does:(

  3. Katie March 18, 2011 at 12:43 am #

    People are always basing their opinions of other people on their looks, as horrid as it may sound, and you have already made your impression within the first seven minutes of meeting someone. A fact that I learnt in my Professional Communication subject.
    If you are feeling a change coming on cut it short. At least you didn’t do what I did, (shave it all off). I keep telling myself that it was for charity, but never again.

  4. yourdailygrace March 18, 2011 at 11:11 am #

    I think you looks great with short or long hair! I’m bad and don’t get my hair cut as often as I should so I usually have them take a couple inches off, I panic and feel like I look weird, and then no ones else notices…so I know what you mean! I actually really need a hair cut!

  5. thebalancebroad March 18, 2011 at 1:09 pm #

    I’m so glad your interview went well….that is a great sign! 🙂

    I LOVE your hair – long or short! I have serious curls, so it’s taking me for.ever. to grow mine out. I wish we could all get extensions….that way when we have short hair and want long, we could put those in until we get tired of it. 🙂

  6. Lauren @ WWoB March 18, 2011 at 3:57 pm #

    I just found your blog and I am so excited!!! I say just trim your hair – I chopped all mine off two years ago and it is just now getting back to its old self. I have missed it so much, and you are right – the in between stage is AWKWARD and longgggg.

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy March 18, 2011 at 4:09 pm #

      Thanks for reading! Thanks for being honest…I think you’re right. I’m in two weddings in the fall and I might regret cutting my hair before then!

  7. runyogarepeat March 18, 2011 at 6:25 pm #

    I think it’s probably true that employers judge on looks, but it may depend on the job/profession. I like short & long hair, but I just cut it to medium length because I think I look so much younger with shorter hair. When my hair gets too long, it just crazy & hard to control!

  8. Colleen @ The Lunchbox Diaries March 18, 2011 at 10:38 pm #

    I’m in the awkward in-between stage now and I haaaateeee it!! Ugh. It is a nightmare. Your hair looks great either way, but unless you think you’ll want to keep it short for a good while, I’d keep it long 🙂

Leave a Reply

