Why 22 is a “weird” age

20 Mar

Or should I say, an “in-between” age.

Not quite a child, not quite a “grown up.” Why do I know this? Because actual “grown ups” do not try to refer to themselves as “grown ups,” and unlike me, children do not go to college (unless they’re one of those genius fifteen year-olds who skipped high school..but that’s another story).

Example(s):

1) At 22, it may seem childish to order the “chicken fingers and fries” when eating out with friends. However, when you are a particular 22 year-old who doesn’t eat fast food, the “chicken fingers and fries” option looks quite comforting/appealing while eating at a nice sit down restaurant.  The compromise? Order “chicken fingers and a fruit plate” instead. That sounds more grown up, right?

It may look like it was ordered off of the kid’s menu. But obviously, the fruit was devoured before the chicken. What kid does that ;)?

2) While at a birthday party for a girl who is turning seven, she will hand Tinkerbell blowers to “the kids.” She hands a 22 year-old a blower, but passes up her mom, telling her “they’re not for grown ups.” In a seven year-old’s mind, a 22 year-old is just another kid.

3) A 22 year-old can prepare to graduate from college and find a full time job, but while living at home with her parents, in order to save money, many of the rules she had in high school still apply. And you know she will put up with these said rules if she would like a roof over her head and food to eat (and a car, and help with her cell phone bill, and car insurance, and health insurance…)

4) A 22 year-old feels like she is independent, but knows that she would probably be living in a cardboard box if it weren’t for the help of her parents (read #3).

5) At 22, friends seem to dwindle. They move away after college, or meet a guy and are never to be seen again. Truth is, people change. At 22, when a girl’s boyfriend asks about her friends, she’ll talk more about the exciting adventures of her blog friends than her real-life friends. How sad weird is that? (not like I do that, or anything…)

6) A 22 year-old is transitioning into the adult world one day at a time. Thank goodness she has someone to transition with.

Just not 24/7. While living at home and unmarried, she cannot be with him 24/7.

Mom and Dad say so (read #3).

Could/Can you relate?

12 Responses to “Why 22 is a “weird” age”

  1. Jess March 20, 2011 at 5:45 pm #

    I can definitely relate, especially to number 3. I am dependent on my parents for SO many things and it scares me for real adulthood!

    On the friends note (this may be a little creepy), I really feel like we would be good friends in real life. It’s one of the reasons I am reading your blog! 🙂

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy March 20, 2011 at 5:54 pm #

      It’s not creepy; I think we would be too! I read blogs because I feel like I can relate to the person who’s blogging…I just wish we all lived closer to each other!

  2. Meaghan March 20, 2011 at 7:06 pm #

    This is going to sound weird, but I almost wish I could relate sometimes. I mean I can relate for the most part, I still don’t feel like a ‘grown-up’ some days. I’m 22 too, but have been on my own for a little over a year now. I kind of hate paying rent and wish I could save some money, but now that I have had the freedom I don’t know if I could give that up.

    I do really miss the days when my mom took care of things, like groceries, bills, and even figuring out insurance stuff (The first time I went to the dentist and realized how much it cost, even with my insurance from work – not fun!)

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy March 20, 2011 at 10:38 pm #

      I think there are positives and negatives to every situation. I am looking forward to having more freedom, but I know how everything will add up so quickly. It will not be much fun, from a financial standpoint!

  3. runyogarepeat March 20, 2011 at 9:07 pm #

    I can definitely relate! I’m thankful that my parents help me out with school and will be helping with rent for next year. I feel independent to some degree but still reliant on my parents for so much. I’m excited but scared for what I will do after graduation because my boyfriend & I have been talking about moving to a different city and out of our state. Ahh real life!

  4. Michelle March 21, 2011 at 2:18 pm #

    Hahah I totally agree… I think your early 20s in general is a weird age. I’m treated like an adult by my adult siblings, but like a kid by the kid siblings. I pay all my own bills and bought my own car, but I still love going home where my mom will spoil me by cooking and doing my laundry for me.

    I wonder when it starts to shift away from this awkward stage? Not that I want to get older 🙂

  5. Katie March 21, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

    Number Three, the story of my life.

  6. Alicia March 23, 2011 at 12:35 am #

    I found your site through clean eating chelsey’s and I can totally relate to a few if not most of those. I’m 22, living with my bf (so no adult telling me when to make the bed etc..) but other than that, I’m in the same position. Finishing up school, completely lost some relationships with friends who have moved out of the province or even town and on to bigger and better things, and totally reading about other strangers lives on blogs more than talking to friends who live here. Dwindling friends seems to suck at times, and not so much at others when your quite content living with your bf and staying in on a saturday night to cudlde and watch a movie. love #6 btw. I guess your parents still get a final say! even when we’re 22 sometimes! I just asked my friends on facebook when ‘twenty-something’ starts becoming applicable to someone. My boyfriend said now, but he is 27, and im turning 23 this year, so i said im much too young for that term! lol, and my other friend said when your 28-29 u can start using it, and my aunt who is 52 said we should shout out our age throughout our twenties cause we’re so young! (couldn’t help but notice your ‘twentysomething’ nod in your info 😉 ) who said 22 is a bad number :). great post 🙂

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy March 23, 2011 at 1:00 am #

      I originally used the term “twenty-something” because I wasn’t planning on telling the blog world (and internet) my age, for safety/security reasons. In time, I kind of let that plan slide.

Leave a Reply

