Weekend review

28 Mar

Ahh…where did the weekend go? I feel like I was almost too busy to enjoy every minute of it, but it was definitely full of fun and surprises. Let’s review, shall we :)?

Saturday

Unlike my usual Saturday morning of a leisurely breakfast and a trip to the gym for Zumba, I began my Saturday by waking up to my alarm at 7am. After a quick bowl of cereal and the last minute decision to change out of my jeans and into yoga pants, I was off to campus for Cesar Chavez Day of Service. My group was assigned to Gleaners Food Bank, where I volunteered not too long ago.

This time we were boxing food items for senior citizens in need; in the course of two hours we boxed over 600 pounds of food! Needless to say, by the time I got home at 2:00, I was hungry and tired.

There was no time for rest in the afternoon though. I ate a quick lunch and went to the gym for a 35 minute session on the ArcTrainer and treadmill. I knew that Jordan had planned a surprise for me in the evening, so I had to be ready on time. His surprise? It began with dinner at my favorite Mexican restaurant. After dinner we drove into the city, where he surprised me with…(drumroll)…tickets to the Broadway Across America production of Grease!

If you’re not a fan of theater or music it may mean nothing to you, but it was seriously the best musical I have seen in my lifetime! We were sitting in the balcony, and when I looked below me I could see rows of people in front of me bobbing their heads and dancing along to the songs. It definitely made for a fun date night that kept me up way past my bedtime :).

Sunday

Sunday was filled with church, friends, and homework . On Friday night two of my old friends (you know you’re growing up when you use the term “old friends”) from camp (we worked together as camp counselors) contacted me about grabbing lunch on Sunday. Since I haven’t seen either them for over a year, of course I said yes! We met up at Chipotle, and I tried my first veggie bowl. I was pleasantly surprised at how good it was! Seriously, try it if you haven’t already. I didn’t take any pictures because I wanted to enjoy the moment with my friends, so you’ll just have to trust me on this one.

Of course, after a weekend full of friends and fun, I had to do homework sometime. After lunch, I headed to Barnes and Noble for an intense study session.

Three hours later, with dry eyes, stiff muscles and too many cups of complimentary water, I decided to call it a day and fit in a nap before dinner.

Monday

Since I had such a busy, busy weekend, I called off my morning workout for an extra hour of a sleep and time to make a batch of chocolate peanut butter oatmeal.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Oatmeal

1 cup coconut milk

1/2 cup oats

1 tbsp. chia seeds

Toppings: 1 tbsp. peanut butter, sprinkle of chocolate chips, and a handful of Quaker Oatmeal Squares

Yum :)….and now I must get ready for class.

Enjoy your Monday!

What did you do over the weekend?

Have you seen any Broadway muscials?/What’s your favorite?

13 Responses to “Weekend review”

  1. Jess March 28, 2011 at 10:49 am #

    Mmm I want that oatmeal!
    My favorite musical is probably Wicked or Lion King:)

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy March 28, 2011 at 11:02 am #

      I like the Lion King too…I would LOVE to see that live! And even though I’ve never seen Wicked, I have the soundtrack 🙂

  2. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) March 28, 2011 at 12:31 pm #

    That oatmeal looks so good. My favourite musical is by far Lion King (but um-I’m a little biased since I have been to a grand total of 2…).

    I left campus to just kind of hang out with one of my friends that lives about 45 minutes away. It was so much fun and I can’t complain at all.

  3. thehealthyapron March 28, 2011 at 3:54 pm #

    OMG, I was obsessed with GRease in middle school! HOw cool!

  4. Stacie@sugarandsneakers March 28, 2011 at 9:07 pm #

    What a fun surprise! I’ve never seen Grease live, but would love to!

    I’ve seen Beauty & The Beast, Hairspray, Phantom of the Opera and Jersey Boys…loved them all!

  5. runyogarepeat March 28, 2011 at 9:09 pm #

    That sounds like the BEST surprise ever! I bet Grease was awesome! I’d love to see it on Broadway. Your oats look great – I need to try coconut milk in oatmeal sometime.

  6. yourdailygrace March 28, 2011 at 9:25 pm #

    I am so jealous that you saw Grease! I was in theatre during high school and love it! Sounds like you had an exciting weekend:)

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy March 28, 2011 at 10:02 pm #

      If it comes to your area you should check it out! I did choir in high school and was in one musical, as well…I think it’s cool when students get involved in theatre!

  7. Katie March 29, 2011 at 3:51 am #

    I had to work Friday night, which was ok, as I had Saturday night off to go and see Motorhead. Then back to work on Sunday for a double 😦

Leave a Reply

