10 Goals, 30 Days

1 Apr

On January 27, I began a little thing called the 30 Day Blog Challenge. It doesn’t take a math whiz to figure out that my 30 day challenge has taken double the amount of time that it is supposed to (I still need to answer #29 and #30). Heck, by now I could have completed two 30 day challenges. There is a reason I have been holding out on #29 though. Read: Day 29- Your goals for the next 30 days. After singing that little rhyme in my head (30 days have September, April, June and November…), I knew that I was good to go. Since April has 30 days, and this blog challenge asks me to list my goals for the next 30 days, I knew that I needed wanted to wait until April 1 to do this post. Obviously I could have counted 30 days from March 15 or March 28, or any other random date, but it’s kind of nice to have a new list of goals for a brand new month, don’t ya think? I do :).

Goals for April

1. Every Sunday, create a workout schedule for the week. Inspired by these lovely bloggers’ recent posts about their workout routines, I have decided that I would like to begin documenting my own plans for the week. Right now I’m on the “go to the gym when you feel like it” schedule, and sometimes that isn’t always enough.

2. Post an Operation Beautiful note once a week. I bought Caitlin‘s book last summer, but have yet to post any of my own notes around my campus or town. Sara’s recent post was a good reminder for me to set a goal to do it.

3. Go to bed earlier. Senioritis has me staying up until midnight, in denial of the fact that I have class in the morning; it is not a good thing.

4. Clean out my closet. Every spring I try to clean out my closet, giving the clothes that I no longer wear to Goodwill. I will have to find a  free weekend to tackle this daunting task.

5. Try a new class at the gym. When I joined the gym two years ago, I tried nearly every class. Now that I’m a regular, I go straight to the machines, besides for Zumba two days a week. Trying out a new class always makes me nervous, but I know that it’s something I should do. Mixing up a routine never hurts (unless you’re trying Bootcamp- that hurts)!

6. Read a book that is in no way related to schoolwork. Lucky for me, Caitlin had the wonderful idea of starting a “blogger book club,” and it begins today. What are we reading?

The Last Lecture by Randy Pausch. I read it a few years ago, but I am excited to read it again. Last time it made such a positive impact on me, which is why I feel it will be a perfect read for the start of a new month.

7. Take my boyfriend on a date. Huh? Here’s the thing, Jordan has been paying for everything this entire school year. He is a gentleman, and would probably do it anyway, but another reason is because he has an income and I do not. He deserves to be treated to something that he enjoys doing. As soon as I get my stipend from my internship, I am going to think of something fun for us to do. Even if that means checking Groupon everyday for ideas :).

8. Get a haircut. I am really bad about getting my hair cut regularly. Unlike normal most people, I never feel relaxed at the salon. I am always thinking of the million other things I could be doing, and making small talk with scratchy hair in my eyes and mouth is not really my thing. But still, a haircut is a must.

9. Try a new recipe for breakfast. I am a repeat offender when it comes to breakfast.

Quaker Oatmeal Squares is the only cold cereal I eat; I can go through a box a week.

10. Land a job It’s all about the power of positive thinking, right? I may not start out in my dream job, and I may not be making what I would hope to make, but having a job lined up before graduation would lift a huge weight off of my shoulders.

So there it is; 10 goals, 30 days. I will be checking back at the end of the month to see how many of these goals I actually accomplished (hopefully all of them!).

Enjoy your day! TGIF 🙂

 

Do you ever create a list of goals that you would like to accomplish?

What are two of your goals for the month of April?

 

 

 


12 Responses to “10 Goals, 30 Days”

  1. yourdailygrace April 1, 2011 at 1:44 pm #

    Great goals! I’ll be rooting for you on number 10 especially! Lots have people have been talking goals today and I think I might copy and revisit some goals I’ve made, and probably failed at:) April does seem like a good month to get some things accomplished!

  2. Ali (Student On A Health Craze) April 1, 2011 at 2:30 pm #

    Good luck with your goals, they all seem really attainable! The start of the month is the perfect opportunity to wipe the slate clean and set some new goals.

  3. cupcake dynamite April 1, 2011 at 2:32 pm #

    thanks for the shout!! 😀 it’s tough to get started, but worth it!!

  4. Michelle April 1, 2011 at 4:09 pm #

    Awesome goals… I think you’re going to kill them! I’m in the process of figuring out my goals for April. So many things to choose from!

  5. Sheila April 1, 2011 at 7:31 pm #

    Great Goals!! I loved that book the Last Lecture

  6. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) April 1, 2011 at 7:57 pm #

    I’m a serious straight offender of eating the same breakfast over and over again. It really isn’t okay. At all.

    Good luck with your goals girl and I’m sure you’ll get to them all.

    One of my goals is actually to try a new recipe once per week since I normally have the same things 20 times.

  7. runyogarepeat April 1, 2011 at 8:42 pm #

    Good luck with your goals! Creating a workout schedule or choosing a few classes I wanna go to really works for me, I get excited for my favorite classes if I plan to go to them. Good luck job searching – I’m still a junior but am already worrying about after graduation!

  8. cupcake dynamite April 1, 2011 at 9:28 pm #

    Thanks for the shoutout, girl!! Keeping a workout log has helped me SO much! I also think it’s super sweet you want to take your boyfriend out on a date, I love trying to come up with nice things to do for my man. 🙂

    -Jamie

Leave a Reply

