A Week of Workouts

3 Apr

On Friday, I wrote my list of April goals. One of my goals is to write down my workout schedule ahead of time, so I feel more organized when it comes to squeezing in my exercise. In honor of this goal, I have decided to do “A Week of Workouts” series every Sunday, for the month of April. This way I will be able to see my goals in published form, and perhaps inspire someone else in the process. I exercise regularly right now, but I think it will be nice to have a plan, instead of deciding what I want to do at the last minute, therefore taking up more of my precious free time :).

I wrote my week’s worth of workouts on my dry erase board, where I keep my life organized. I love knowing that I can just erase something off the board once it’s accomplished. By erasing marker off of the board, I take a weight off of my shoulders :). Another one of my goals is to try a new workout class, so I am excited to incorporate this into my weekly schedules, as well.

I have never taken Body Toning or Pilates at the gym before, so I will be the newbie this week. The description of Body Toning says that it consists of simple strength training moves set to music. Since I need to incorporate strength training into my routine, I thought it would be perfect. I have taken Bootcamp before, which is more of an advanced strength training class, but it is painful. I guess I should have known that they call it “Bootcamp” for a reason. Fingers crossed that I have a better experience with Body Toning. As far as Pilates goes, taking it at the gym has always intimidated me. Even though I am perfectly comfortable doing it at home, lying side by side with 20 or so super flexible women is kind of scary. I don’t like being the awkward new girl that is not familiar with the instructor’s routine. I’ve tried yoga at the gym a few times and it does not relax me, at all. Being around other people, standing in their poses so seriously, just makes me lose concentration and giggle, or think too much and cry (okay, not really cry, but I may or may not have felt like crying).

Let’s hope that I have a better experience with my Pilates class :).

Well, I am off to church this morning. Enjoy your last (sigh) day of the weekend!

 

Do you keep a workout schedule?

How do you mix up your exercise routine?

Do you get intimidated by any classes at the gym?

10 Responses to “A Week of Workouts”

  1. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) April 3, 2011 at 8:03 am #

    I used to be so intimidated by a body lift class that they would do at the Y. Until they made me start having to teach it! Oh my goodness-I don’t think I have ever lifted so hard before to try and mirror what to do in the class ever. I agree though, everyone is the new girl at one point so trying something new is never a bad thing.

    I keep a journal with all my workouts in it.

  2. Ali (Student On A Health Craze) April 3, 2011 at 8:08 am #

    My workout schedule changes on a weekly basis. The exercise classes stay the same, of course, but everything else is subject to change!

    I definitely get intimidated by classes at the gym. I haven’t been to any classes at a gym!! Outrageous, right? I’ve been to exercise classes, just never at the gyms I’ve been a member of. One day that’ll change!

  3. yourdailygrace April 3, 2011 at 8:58 am #

    I am so intimidated by exercise classes, especially yoga! I made it my goal to go to a yoga class during my 40 days of positivity but I haven’t done one yet, I’d say it is more of a lack of time not a lack of wanting to go though. I love your dry erase board idea, that might work for me! I don’t usually make plans so maybe that is why work outs keep falling to the wayside:(

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy April 3, 2011 at 3:38 pm #

      I know, I think yoga is the most intimidating! I feel like my workouts keep getting pushed aside because of my busy schedule, too, but I hope that it changes this month!

  4. Michelle April 3, 2011 at 2:50 pm #

    I’m totally intimidated by classes – I’ve never actually gone to one! I’m impressed by how you go and try new things like that… maybe one day I’ll work up the nerve!

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy April 3, 2011 at 3:36 pm #

      Believe me, I’m always scared to go at first! But there are always other new people who look just as nervous, so it helps.

  5. Colleen @ The Lunchbox Diaries April 3, 2011 at 7:57 pm #

    I like going to workout classes every now and then to mix it up. I haven’t been to a body toning class in forever and I miss it! I really think you’ll enjoy it! And yes, I normally write my workout schedule down on Sundays – it totally helps keep me on track!

Leave a Reply

