One of those days

4 Apr

Over the past 24 hours, I’ve kind of been having an “it’s one of those days” moment kind of day. It all started with a group project. Nothing is ever good when the words “group project” are the in the sentence. Why? Because somehow the “group” part of the phrase always gets completely ignored, and it ends up being “my” project. I spent the majority of the weekend working on said project, and by yesterday afternoon, I thought I was going to drop my class and take the “W” on my transcript for “Withdraw.” Thankfully I came to my senses and did no such thing. But I did work so intently that I forgot to eat lunch. By the time I looked at the clock it was 3:30, and I had not eaten since breakfast. Not good, Emily, not good. I resorted to the easiest lunch possible.

Quaker Oatmeal Squares in a pool of coconut milk, and apples sprinkled with a ton of cinnamon. I crave carbs when I’m stressed out with schoolwork. At least I chose healthy ones yesterday 🙂 .

My studying took me up to dinner, and at that time I declared that I was done. Or so I thought. A group member called me at 11pm, when I was already in bed. We discussed the project for 15 minutes, leaving me awake past my bedtime. I had to get up early to come into school to work on (what else?) the group project, so this morning was not a fun one. More carbs required.

I burnt my bagel in the toaster oven.  I ate it anyway.

I arrived twenty minutes late to our group meeting, and as I arrived, I actually said aloud, “Isn’t it okay that I’m late? I already did all of the work anyway.” Yeah, out loud. I’m sure my group just loves me.

One of my group members had yet to do her part at 10:00am. Our presentation was at noon.

By some miracle, and one group member skipping his first class to help said group member, who shall remain nameless, everything was completed. I am so glad that darn project is done.

Now I get to look forward to the one due at the end of the semester. I am just thrilled to tell you that I was assigned to the same group members :).

(Not really). I need some chocolate.

12 Responses to “One of those days”

  1. Michelle April 4, 2011 at 3:43 pm #

    Agh, I haaaaaaaated group projects. I hope your day is getting better… you’re almost there!

  2. Jess April 4, 2011 at 4:36 pm #

    As you know, I HATE group projects for the exact same reason. ugggh.

  3. Ali (Student On A Health Craze) April 4, 2011 at 8:46 pm #

    Group projects are awful – no matter how lucky you are, there’s always someone that doesn’t pull their weight! At least it’s over and done with now!

  4. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) April 4, 2011 at 9:26 pm #

    I hate hate hate group projects so much. I’ll tell you the story that I briefly tweeted about.

    We had a big project for an education project of mine (literally worth 60% of our FINAL grade). We had all semester to do it and were assigned partners (the principle that you don’t get too choose your team teachers blah blah blah). Well anywho-I put in about 30 minutes about every week for 16 weeks. I would constantly ask her if she had worked on anything and she would be like oh yea blah blah and refused to show me. Then at week 14 she showed me what she had done and it was legit 10 minutes of work. So then I began working on her part and the NIGHT before she asked if I wanted to meet. I said um no I have the project done and the next day in class she came up to the front in a lecture of 100 people and I was just like um please sit down you did nothing on this project.

    She failed the class and I’m pretty sure she failed out.

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy April 4, 2011 at 11:40 pm #

      Good for you, for standing up for yourself! I am having a chat with my prof on Wednesday. I’m relieved that it’s over, but it’s frustrating to carry the workload of someone else, making it more difficult to concentrate on my own part!

  5. yourdailygrace April 4, 2011 at 10:46 pm #

    Oh my goodness, this sounds like my future in the next two weeks. In my fussiness speech class we were just assigned a group lit review and presentations. My teacher literally gave us a paper describing it that said, “Congratulations, ” on it. I was like congratulations you just screwed us over…I’m confused. Eat some chocolate girl!

  6. Sara Meets Life April 5, 2011 at 8:42 pm #

    I hate hate hate HATE group projects!! In college it’s especially difficult because everyone has such different schedules! Glad you’re not stuck with that group for your final project 🙂

Leave a Reply

