Look on the bright side

5 Apr

I accomplished one of my April goals this evening by attending a new class (or, new for me) at the gym: Body Toning. The verdict? I loved it! The whole class was set to Top 40 music, which immediately lifted my mood and helped me overcome my fear of taking a strength training class. We did 45 minutes of arms, legs and abs, using hand weights, a balance ball, our own body weight, and a yoga mat. It reminded me of Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred, but was much more motivating for me because of the music. I need good music when I workout. I already know that I am going to be feeling it in the morning; my body is now feeling aches on the borderline of “a good hurt” and true pain. No pain, no gain, right ;)?

*     *     *

After having a not so good day yesterday, I was determined to keep today positive. I came to the realization that my mind determines what my mood will be like. I just had to look on the bright side of things. With a new perspective, I was able to look forward to things, like:

Getting up at 7am to go to work, after staying up until midnight to watch the Butler game last night. Eating a yummy breakfast of Quaker Oatmeal Squares, blueberries and walnuts, giving me the energy that I needed to get through the morning.

Commuting a half an hour to my internship, and a half an hour back, spending over an hour in the car, while wasting $3.80 for each gallon of gas. Being fortunate enough to experience work life in the city,

but being able to drive home on country roads,

in order to get home to the suburbs. I get to experience the best of both worlds, and I don’t think I would appreciate one without the other.

Eating a quick lunch while already “hangry” at 2pm in the afternoon. Making the most of a quick lunch at home by making a childhood favorite with an adult twist. (Chicken salad made with plain Greek yogurt and dried cherries and walnuts on top of a bed of spinach and half a piece of naan, with a side of white cheddar Cheetos and grapes)

To finish off my day with positivity, I made a batch of Jenna’s “Lazy Girl’s Chocolate Chip Blondies.” Chocolate, butter and sugar put a positive spin on any day. If you don’t agree, we need to chat ;).

Well, I am going to bed so I can end this day with some much needed sleeep! Night :).

How do you stay positive during the day?

Name a moment when you looked on the “bright side”.

6 Responses to “Look on the bright side”

  1. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) April 6, 2011 at 8:05 am #

    Wow that is awesome. I looked on the bright side yesterday, I’m in the midst of switching majors and seeing as I’m a junior that is kind of a big blow.

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy April 6, 2011 at 9:02 am #

      I switched majors the second semester of my 4th year (I’m now a fifth year senior), so don’t feel bad, you’re not the only one! It’s not easy to know what we want to do when we’re going to college at 17 or 18!

  2. Michelle April 6, 2011 at 3:00 pm #

    Gosh, I’m stumped by this one… I know I’m always trying to look on the bright side, but now I can’t think of any specific examples! Go figure.

    I love your childhood lunch… especially the Cheetos 🙂

  3. scatterbrainjane April 8, 2011 at 12:02 am #

    Great post! I thought about this on my drive to work today… I was kind of crabby then I just thought what if I just GET OVER it and be happy?!
    It worked! 🙂

Leave a Reply

