They say it’s your birthday

9 Apr

Good morning, friends. Aren’t you glad that it’s the weekend? I know I am! Is it just me, or did this week seem to drag on? I think I’ve been itching for the summer-like weather that the forecasters have been calling for this weekend.  A high of 76 degrees today? I’ll take it!

First, I want to thank all of you for your nice comments on yesterday’s post. It made my day to read your positive thoughts. It means a lot to me; I am so grateful for this outlet, and all of you :).

On another positive note…today is my sister’s birthday (the big 2-1)!

(Source)

After Zumba and some homework, the rest of my day will be spent celebrating.  Upon her request, our family is going out to dinner tonight. My sis has been talking about how she wants a mojito, so we had to check the menu to make sure they have them. They do :). And since my parents never bought me a drink for my 21st birthday (upon my request, they made me dinner at home), they said they would buy me one too. Thanks, parents ;). I think I’ll stay away from the mojitos though; I’m not a big fan of mint.

A birthday in the family calls for reminiscing, don’t you think?

It seems like just yesterday…

She was drinking out of sippy cups and wearing dresses with puffy sleeves (and I probably would’ve been too, we’re only 21 months apart).

We’d agree to put on matching outfits and take picture after picture for our Christmas cards.

Oh wait, maybe because that was just yesterday, err, Christmas 2010

Yeah, we’re cool like that

Time flies when you’re having fun…

2008

2010 (at 5’6″, I’m the shorty in our family)

Happy Birthday, Sis!

 

How do you celebrate birthdays in your family?

How did you celebrate your 21st birthday? My boyfriend took me downtown for dinner on my actual birthday, and then I celebrated with my family on the weekend. Mine was very low key, but I liked it that way :).


 

12 Responses to “They say it’s your birthday”

  1. Cait April 9, 2011 at 8:39 am #

    this is so cute girl 🙂 hmm i celebrate my birthday with a big bang- no just kidding ha but whenever i celebrate i just want my close friends around me! xo Hmm my 21st birthday was with about 30 friends ( crazy i know ) and only a few at the time were 21 with me so we went out for a drinks. It was actually pretty mellow.

  2. Hilary April 9, 2011 at 8:58 am #

    Thanks Em! This is so sweet. I feel old when I look at these pictures. And it’s weird that right now you are 22 and I am 21.

  3. Alicia April 9, 2011 at 11:17 am #

    well the ‘magic age’ in canada, well BC is 19. I was actually on a cruise in the caribbean at the time, so I think when I got back my mom took me out for a drink~ But for 21 I actually went to Vegas! I think that’s appropriate? lol. Happy birthday to your sister!

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy April 9, 2011 at 12:25 pm #

      My family is from Michigan, and my cousins and I are all close in age, so we talked about planning a trip to Canada when we were all 19 or over :).But it never happened, haha. Vegas is definitely appropriate! Thanks!

  4. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) April 9, 2011 at 12:04 pm #

    My 21st is in July actually! You guys both look gorgeous!

    My family normally goes out to eat and we get a Coldstone Cake. It’s simply perfect.

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy April 9, 2011 at 12:26 pm #

      That’s exciting, my birthday’s in July too! Yum, Coldstone!! I’ve never had their ice cream cakes, but they always look so good!

  5. Jess April 9, 2011 at 12:47 pm #

    Happy birthday to your sis!

  6. Lauren Cardarelli April 13, 2011 at 10:23 am #

    I celebrated my 21st by going on a ski trip with a bunch of friends at my vacation home in VT. It was an absolute blast and a memory I will hold dearly. Love your blog, so glad I stumbled upon it.

    http://sprinkledwlove.com/

Leave a Reply

