Weekend, workouts, and a winner

17 Apr

Where did the weekend go? Taking a break from technology can make the time fly. A lot of things can be accomplished when you aren’t staring at a screen :).

Yesterday, I spent the day with my sisters. I skipped my usual Saturday Zumba class to go shopping and out to lunch. It was worth it :). I had not been shopping (for fun) since last summer. Crazy, right? Not having an income this school year has meant not having money for clothes. I received my first stipend check from my internship this week though, and I knew it was time for me to say “yes” to a shopping spree. Of course, I had some shopping goals in mind. I knew that if I didn’t, all of my hard-earned money would be spent instead of saved. I was on a mission to find a dress or two for this summer. I have two graduations (my own- from college, and my sister’s- from high school), two bridal showers, a baby shower, and a graduation party to attend this summer. I ended up purchasing not one, but three dresses. Mission accomplished! And, all of them were on sale :).

The two on the left are from Charlotte Russe, and the one on the right is from Old Navy. The Old Navy dress also comes in black; I had to resist  buying it in both colors. Once I have secured a full time job, I may go back for the one in black :). I am still deciding which one of these to wear to graduation. I realize that no one will see it under my gown, but since I will know what I’m wearing, it matters to me :). I bought the white dress thinking that it would be cute for the bridal showers I’m attending, until my sister reminded me that it might not be the best idea to wear white to a bridal shower. Is this true? I’m in both of the weddings, so I don’t want to be a rude bridesmaid! Decisions, decisions.

****

This morning, I began my day with a big plate of pancakes.

Apparently all of that shopping made me hungry (a day later)? The recipe (1/2 c. flour, 1 tsp. baking powder, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 cup almond milk) is supposed to be the serving size for one person, but I added a 1/2 cup pumpkin and 1 tbsp. chopped walnuts, which bulked up the batter a lot. I was hungry though. No complaints, especially when topped with Earth Balance and syrup :).

I spent the rest of the day cleaning, putting away yesterday’s laundry, going for a walk with Jordan and his dogs (it was so nice outside today!), and attempting to do homework. I say attempting, because I am currently procrastinating a two page paper that is due tomorrow morning.

Before I go, I will leave you with the winner of the Shutterfly Spring Celebration giveaway!

True Random Number Generator
1
12
2
Powered by RANDOM.ORG

The winner is… Hollie! Congratulations, Hollie. You can email me at perfectionisnthappy@gmail.com and I will get back to you with the information for your free photo book!

Well, I am off to tackle this paper. If you are wondering what my workout schedule for the week looks like, you can find it here.

Night night!

What did you wear to your graduation?

Is it appropriate to wear white to a bridal shower?

5 Responses to “Weekend, workouts, and a winner”

  1. Meaghan April 18, 2011 at 10:37 am #

    I love those dresses! Esp. the middle one 🙂 I have no idea what I am going to wear to my graduation, I am going shopping next week to hopefully find something! And yeah, it’ll be under your gown, but not for the whole day! So people will see the dress eventually 😛

  2. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) April 18, 2011 at 12:35 pm #

    I don’t think it really is appropriate to wear white unless the Bride says so. It’s one of those hidden rules, I feel like it. I’m not sure-I wouldn’t unless it’s your best bet. I’m in love with that black dress though.

    I agree about technology-when I take a break I feel like everyone elses life has zoomed by.

    To my high school graduation, I wore a simple dress from GAP. We had to wear white underneath our white gowns so it was pretty limited.

    I’m so excited to win! Thanks so much!

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy April 18, 2011 at 2:10 pm #

      Yeah, I think you’re right. Thank you!

      I had to wear a white dress to my high school graduation too, so it was a lot easier to pick something out then!

      You’re very welcome!

  3. runyogarepeat April 18, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

    I love those dresses! Summer dresses are my favorite. It definitely matters what you wear, even if it’s under the gown!

Leave a Reply

