Dessert in a bowl

18 Apr

On occasion, my mom will make a dessert that is often requested of her, which contains a graham cracker crumb crust, condensed milk, chocolate chips and coconut, all baked into bars. In fact, she made these bars on Friday, and now they are all gone.

Although the bars aren’t breakfast food, they are the kind of thing you just seem to crave in the morning anyway. I may or may not have snacked on one while making my actual breakfast on both Saturday and Sunday. So today, when I woke up and the bars were gone, I thought why not recreate them in breakfast form? Then I did :).

Dessert in a bowl

1/2 cup oats

1 cup coconut milk

Toppings:

1 tbsp. crunchy almond butter

Shredded coconut

Dark chocolate chips

Quaker Oatmeal Squares

I eyeballed it with most of the toppings. Who wants to waste a perfectly clean measuring cup when you can pour chocolate chips straight from the bag, anyway :)? The result was a chocolaty, crunchy, gooey concoction, reminiscent of the bars my mom makes.

I ate it all, and then I scraped the bowl like I do when I’m eating ice cream. I could have gone as far as to lick the bowl, but for the record, I did not :).

I will be spending the rest of my day on a crowded college campus, so this was just what I needed this dreary Monday morning. It’s almost hard to believe that I only have six days of class left before finals!

Happy Monday!

What did you have for breakfast this morning?

Have you ever eaten dessert for breakfast?

8 Responses to “Dessert in a bowl”

  1. Michelle April 18, 2011 at 11:04 am #

    Um, yum!! This sounds delicious (and so do your mom’s bars!).

    I’m certainly no stranger to dessert for breakfast. I’ve done my share of Christmas cookie eating at all hours of the day. This morning, though, I stuck to a boring old greek yogurt mixed with some berries and granola.

  2. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) April 18, 2011 at 12:26 pm #

    I had dark chocolate coconut pancakes. Coconut is my favorite flavor by far!

  3. Laura @ LauraLikeDesign April 18, 2011 at 10:59 pm #

    This is a brilliant idea! I love those bars!

    I had a smoothie for breakfast and then some chobani when I got to work!

    I’ve definitely consumed a few rice krispie bars for breakfast before! mmm

  4. Kimberly April 19, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

    Oh wow! I ❤ (and crave) sweet breakfast food in the morning! I usually roll with some sort of oatmeal creation, breakfast cookie, Cliff or LARA BAR, or my new obsession- Creamy Rice smothered in PB and all sorts of yummy toppings! Your bfast looks amazingly delish! 🙂

  5. Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots April 20, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

    I had a semi-faed attempt at overnight oats… it didn’t thicken quite liek I wanted it to :/ I’ve found it easiest if I cook the oats a bit in the microwave before chilling them.

    but this bowl looks amaaaazing!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

