Guest Post from Runyogarepeat: On Taking Leaps

21 Apr

As you can tell from yesterday’s post, things are pretty darn stressful busy around here. Luckily, Lauren has some inspiration for you today. I know we can all appreciate having more positivity in our lives, so thank you Lauren :).

Hey guys! My name is Lauren, and I blog over at runyogarepeat.wordpress.com where I talk about training for my 4th half marathon, eating yummy food, and some random life tidbits.

When I found Emily’s blog, I felt like I could really relate to her story about college, transferring, and pressures of being perfect, which I’ve realized mostly come from me, not others.

I am a pretty driven person and have always tried hard and done well in school. So, when it came time to apply to colleges, I applied to what I thought were good, “prestigious” schools, as well as the state school in my state. I got into all of them, visited them, but my decision was more based on how prestigious the school was, and if the program for my major was good rather than if it would be a good fit for me.

I chose Villanova University, and I was so excited the summer before.

It was about 8 hours away from home, but I didn’t think I would mind. When I got there, it was a bit of a culture shock! I’m from a small town in Vermont, so I found myself surrounded by city kids from New York City, Philly, and Jersey mostly. Not a problem, I was just kinda out of the loop when it came to city fashion and accessories on campus. (My idea of fashion still is yoga pants & a sweatshirt)

The first year I did what I thought I was supposed to do as a college student. I made friends, went out to parties, stayed up late, and all that stuff.

It was fun, and I made a few good friends, but subconsciously, I felt like things were wrong. I was going through the motions, but I wasn’t truly happy there. I hid those feelings from myself and others because I didn’t want to accept them.

I went back for a second year, and by the end of the first semester of my sophomore year, I realized that I wasn’t going to be happy with myself and my college experience if I stayed there another 2 years. Everyone else had found their place in a sorority, a club, or just a really great group of friends. My group of friends from freshman year had grown apart, and although we still hung out, I felt like I did not belong at Villanova.

So, I broke down and told my parents and my boyfriend (from home) that I wasn’t happy there, and my parents were kinda shocked because I had never complained before, but they were supportive. I applied to the University of Vermont when in high school, I absolutely DID NOT want to go to college so close to home, but now, it seemed like the perfect fit.

Now, I am happier, surrounded by beautiful sites like this,

closer to home and closer to this guy

and a million times happier.

Now, I’m just finishing up my junior year at UVM, and I could not be happier with my decision. I feel like I belong at this school, I like being closer to home, and I have grown and changed so much because of this experience.

I never wanted to admit that I chose the “wrong school,” because I was too worried about what others would think if I transferred back home and left a great school. In the end, it really doesn’t matter what others thought about my decision. My parents were supportive the whole time, and it was a scary decision. College is supposed to be the time of your life, and I wanted to experience that. It is also a time of HUGE change, and you make tons of decisions during the 4 years.

Make decisions based on what will make you happy, what you want to do, so you can enjoy them. Change is scary, but taking that leap is so worth it.

Oh, and also, just relax, be spontaneous, and have fun in college!

Thanks Emily for letting me share! Good luck in the next few weeks, and congrats on graduating soon!

Thank you, Lauren! I can relate so much to your story, and I’m sure others can too :).

5 Responses to “Guest Post from Runyogarepeat: On Taking Leaps”

  1. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) April 21, 2011 at 9:15 am #

    Oh wow, I had no idea you went to Villa girl! I’m glad you are better suited at Burlington and closer to me! ha. 😉

    What another great guest blog and Emily I hope your preparation for graduating is going well.

  2. yourdailygrace April 21, 2011 at 1:26 pm #

    Thanks for sharing! I haven’t taken too many leaps in my life but if one comes along I hope I’ll handle it well!

  3. runyogarepeat April 21, 2011 at 8:17 pm #

    Thanks Emily!

  4. Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots April 24, 2011 at 1:41 am #

    I relate to this a lot better than I’d care to admit. Most of hte time I feel like absolutely nothing i sholding me to this college… not even my major (there are other majors I’d consider exploring if they were offered here, which they aren’t…)

    The $22,400 a year random grant I got, though… that’s a different story…

    thank you for sharing ❤
    n

Leave a Reply

