Weekend Recap

25 Apr

Wow, is it Monday already? My weekend consisted of a lot of overloading on sugar and carbs, and little time for blogging. I don’t think I’ve even read a blog since Friday! I have to admit, it was kind of nice to take a break my blogging “addiction” for a couple of days :). Here’s the recap:

Friday

As I mentioned earlier, on Friday evening my chapter of the Lambda Pi Eta (National Communication Honor Society) was inducting new members. The program went smoothly (though it took longer than I thought it would), and I didn’t stutter over my lines, or burn myself while lighting the candle :).

Lambda Initiation

We took a group photo, but for privacy reasons, you’ll just have to settle for looking at me :)- my eyes glowing in the funny lighting (why does that happen?) and looking over my shoulder at a different camera- oops! Then we took a “serious/look tough” photo, but I’m not sure I look very intimidating.

Wow, I look so mean ;).

Since I didn’t think the program was going to run as long as it did, I didn’t eat beforehand. Needless to say, I was a bit hangry when it was over. Luckily, we were already downtown with plenty of restaurants to choose from, so Jordan and I headed to Weber Grill for a late dinner.

I had one of their specials- a portobello mushroom pizza, and a non-pictured mixed green salad on the side. Everything was wonderful, but I was definitely feeling the effects of the carbs a day later (luckily , that’s when a  gym membership comes in handy).

Saturday

My Saturday consisted of an Earth Day (one day late) service project, a lunch date with a friend, homework, and an early Easter celebration with my family. Jordan came over to celebrate with us, and he brought quite a big surprise with him.

Literally. It’s probably about four feet tall when standing up! He was so excited about it, that he gave it to me a day early. What girl doesn’t love a big bunny on Easter :)?

Jordan also treated me to a Dairy Queen blizzard on Saturday night since I gave up ice cream for Lent. I know I probably should have waited until after church on Sunday, but I knew I wouldn’t have time to go to DQ then, and figured Saturday night was close enough!

Sunday

“Family time” was the theme of my Sunday. I went to church, had breakfast, and opened Easter baskets (yes, I still get an Easter basket 🙂 ) with my family, and then I began baking for an Easter get-together with Jordan’s family.

My contribution- pumpkin cookies with a homemade cream cheese frosting. They were the hit of the party :). By the time I got home, it was after 9:00. Since I had a bit of a sugar high from all of the Easter goodies, I quickly finished some homework and called it a night.

Today

The good news? Two of my professors cancelled class day, due to the fact that everyone is playing end-of-the-semester catch up. For this reason, I decided to take a “mental health day” from what would have been my first and only class. I will be catching up on homework, cleaning, and hitting the gym today.

I only have one week of college left; it’s kind of hard to believe! Well… I should probably get moving so I can make this day somewhat productive.

Enjoy your Monday!

How did you celebrate the Easter weekend?

How do you cure a carb/sugar hangover?

13 Responses to “Weekend Recap”

  1. Colleen @ The Lunchbox Diaries April 25, 2011 at 11:55 am #

    You’re so pretty! I love that dress! For my sugar/carb hangovers, I just turn the page and get movin’! I try not to dwell on what I ate, because I enjoyed it and there’s nothing I can do besides making healthy choices throughout the week 🙂

  2. Michelle April 25, 2011 at 12:06 pm #

    One week left – how exciting!! You’re almost there 🙂 And I agree with Colleen – you look super pretty in your pictures!

    I definitely took the weekend off from blogging as well, and it felt really good actually (maybe I’m not supposed to say that…). I cure my carb / sugar hangovers with lots and lotttts of veggies, generally because those are all that sound good at that point anyway.

  3. thehealthyapron April 25, 2011 at 12:47 pm #

    Wow! Congrats all almost being done with colege! I remember how sad I was when I was finally done…best time ever!

  4. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) April 25, 2011 at 4:37 pm #

    Sugar hangovers-I normally drink a ton of water and they go away pretty quickly.

    You look adorable in your dress girl-I love it!

  5. Laura @ LauraLikesDesign April 25, 2011 at 7:09 pm #

    Mental health days are the best! Sometimes you just need a day to kick back, get caught up on errands/chores, and hit the gym.

  6. yourdailygrace April 26, 2011 at 4:07 pm #

    We have a chapter of Lamba Pi Eta and I was thinking about joining it but wasn’t sure if it’s be helpful? I think I might join next year just as something to put on my resume but I’ll already be a senior so who knows! Glad you had a good weekend, mine was full of carbs and sugar as well! I’ve tried to get back to normal but there is too much candy around tempting me:) I had to make a promise that the last piece of easter candy I will consume will be a reese’s egg. I haven’t had one at all and I love them in froyo so I’m waiting it out!

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy April 26, 2011 at 8:16 pm #

      You should join! I didn’t join until I was a senior…and it’s been really good for me. I’ve met a lot of people that I didn’t know otherwise and gotten involved in more community service. It’s also good for networking. Plus, you get to wear the Lambda cords at graduation :). Ah, the candy has been tempting me too! I just had a miniature Reese’s egg today (along with some other pieces of chocolate) :)…I didn’t feel so bad since it was tinier than the original sized ones, haha.

  7. Katie April 27, 2011 at 6:36 pm #

    My Easter weekend consisted of work, the whole weekend. The best thing for a carn hangover is to go on the iggest walk I possibly can, makes me feel heaps better for pigging out 🙂

Leave a Reply

