Where’d you go?

20 May

“I miss you so. Seems like it’s been forever that you’ve been gone.”

Okay, so maybe you’re not singing Fort Minor tunes because of my absence in the blog world, but it really does feel like it’s been forever!

I have had a busy, busy week, one that included no access to a computer. And it actually felt great. After staring a computer screen for what felt like 24/7, the past 16 weeks, it was really nice to take a break. Let’s rewind, shall we?

On Sunday, I graduated from college. While I wish I could say that I now feel like  brand new, liberated woman, the truth is, I’m still trying to wrap my mind around the fact that I am no longer a student.

A little bittersweet

The ceremonies ended up being almost 4 1/2 hours long, and needless to say, I was a little exhausted when it was all over. I was so thankful for my family’s support (and patience); despite being a little sad, it was an exciting day :).

Oops…I was saying hi to a friend walking by 🙂

My family, Jordan and I concluded Sunday’s celebration with dinner at Weber Grill and cupcakes at home (a homemade gift from my sister :)). My parents also surprised me with a brand new camera! My other camera broke a few months ago, and I am happy that I no longer have to use my camera phone, circa 2008, anymore.

On Monday, I got up bright and early to go to Michigan, where I spent the rest of my week, hence the not having a computer thing. I am originally from Michigan, and the majority of my relatives still live there. Since my dad was going up there for work, I decided to join him, giving my mind a little break from the realities of life.

I spent time with my grandparents on both sides of the family, and with my cousin, who is getting married in October :). I bought my bridesmaid’s dress and gushed over her wedding details, and spent some quality time with my grandparents- shopping, bowling, and of course, eating delicious food.

I was sad to leave Michigan yesterday, and I am still trying to get to the point where I am content being back home. It’s always hard for me to come back after a trip, especially when the trip included spending time with people I love. 

Today I did fun stuff  like catch up on the 68 emails that I missed when I was gone, and two loads of laundry.  And I mean “fun” with only minor sarcasm…I don’t mind doing mundane tasks when homework isn’t calling my name :).

I also made my graduation announcements, with the assistance of Shutterfly.com, who sponsored a post of mine last month.

I’m really not too thrilled with that photo, but after sitting for nearly five hours, I guess you have to expect a little “baggage” under the eyes ;).

Well, it’s a beautiful day outside and I have yet to enjoy it. I might sneak in a walk before it gets too dark outside. I also have a pile of clean clothes sitting on the floor, and they are not going to put themselves away.

Enjoy your Friday night, friends. It feels good to be back :).

13 Responses to “Where’d you go?”

  1. cheerfulfeast May 21, 2011 at 9:14 am #

    Congrats on graduating! I’m from Michigan too, Northern Michigan is so peaceful and the best place to relax!

  2. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) May 21, 2011 at 10:58 am #

    You look really gorgeous girl and I’m glad you successfully graduated! Here is to a new chapter of your life. 🙂

  3. Kristen @ The Red Velvet Life May 21, 2011 at 6:48 pm #

    Just found your blog and I love it! I can totally relate to the premise as I’m a recovering perfectionist myself! 🙂 Congrats on your graduation! I know what you mean about it being a bittersweet time, but I hope it’s feeling very sweet right about now — you deserve to enjoy it! Congrats! XO

  4. megpinkgiggles May 21, 2011 at 11:31 pm #

    Welcome back! Lol and congrats on graduating

  5. Michelle May 22, 2011 at 11:45 am #

    Stepping away is sometimes very necessary 🙂

    Congrats on graduating!! It’s such an exciting time – keep enjoying it!

  6. sara @ the foodie diaries May 22, 2011 at 2:36 pm #

    Don’t worry, there’s plenty of times when there’s just so much going on in my life that I need to take a time out from blogging. CONGRATULATIONS on graduation!!! 🙂 I graduated about 3 weeks ago and I still can’t believe I’m done with college forever!!

  7. Emily K. May 22, 2011 at 3:15 pm #

    Congratulations on your graduation!

Leave a Reply

