Caps, gowns, and food on a farm

28 May

Last night, my family and I attended our final high school graduation ceremony (for our immediate family, anyway). It was the third time my cap and gown had been worn, the last time it will ever need to be worn. Having three girls of similar sizes in the family, we share a lot of clothing- high school cap and gown included :).

Before going to the ceremony, we began the evening with a dinner out. We went to The Loft at Trader’s Point Creamery, a local, organic restaurant located on a farm off of some country roads.

The atmosphere of the The Loft is enough to want to make you come back again. The inside looks like an old barn (which I believe, it once was), with a dairy bar that serves homemade ice cream and milkshakes, and live music on Friday nights.

The menu changes seasonally, so even though my sisters and I were here just a few months ago, we had brand new options this time. I was debating between soup and a mixed green salad, or an entree salad, and finally decided on the Strawberry Fields Salad.

Fresh strawberry slices, pecans and goat cheese were served on a huge bed of spinach, with blueberry balsamic vinaigrette dressing on the side. I ate this salad until I was full, picked at it a little more while perusing the dessert menu, and then finally decided to take the rest home. It was delicious.

For dessert, I had a single scoop of ice cream, half chocolate/half carmel. All of my pictures turned out a little blurry, but you’ll have to trust me when I say it was some of the best ice cream that I have ever eaten.

And since ice cream is my favorite dessert, that is saying a lot :). I am usually a chocolate girl, but the carmel was outstanding. Jordan described the ice cream as being “awesome,” and he doesn’t usually get excited about food (he is happy going to MCL Cafeteria- not much of a foodie, if you get my gist πŸ™‚ ).

After dinner and dessert, we headed to the high school for my sister’s graduation. Just in time, too- we arrived 45 minutes early and it was already almost standing room only.

I felt kind of funny seeing my youngest sister walk down that aisle and across the stage. It seems like just yesterday I was doing the same.

It also seems like, just yesterday, I was running laps, running stairs, and playing volleyball in that very same gym for summer P.E. Thank goodness those days are over ;).

And then, before we knew it, it was over. The speakers kept their speeches very brief, and all of us enduring the cold, hard metal of the bleachers were appreciative :).

By the time we found my sister in that sea of purple and white and got home, it was after 10:00. Apparently I was exhausted, because all I wanted to do was go to bed, and I fell asleep as soon as my head hit the pillow.

As far as today goes, it has been quite relaxed. I just received a new workout DVD in the mail, so I’m thinking that a workout is the next item to tackle on my non-existent to-do list. I will be back later with a review :).

Enjoy your Saturday!

How many people were in your graduating class?

My sister had about 500, but not everyone walked- still, it was hard to find her in that swarm of people! I believe my class was in the 460s- I remember seeing people at graduation that I didn’t know existed!

What were your high school colors?

Purple and white! And my senior class colors were hot pink and lime green- two of my favorite colors. I think I lucked out in the color department πŸ™‚ – my mom’s colors were brown and gold!

 

 

9 Responses to “Caps, gowns, and food on a farm”

  1. Jess May 28, 2011 at 3:46 pm #

    My class had about 110. It was small!

  2. Beyond Bananas May 28, 2011 at 6:15 pm #

    My high school class had about 187.. (there were 220 when I was a freshman.. the number decreased.. it was catholic school.. so there were a bunch of kids that got kicked out)
    School colors.. Green and Yellow. Not the best mix. Girls wore the yellow, which i HATED because I hate wearing yellow with my blonde hair. I was not only wearing a yellow gown..but I also had a yellow CAP.. right on the blonde hair. hahah

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy May 29, 2011 at 8:07 am #

      Our number decreased over time too, haha. And I can relate to the wearing yellow thing…I don’t like wearing it unless I’m tan. I think I only own about three yellow shirts, and they don’t get pulled out of my closet until the middle of summer!

  3. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) May 28, 2011 at 10:40 pm #

    My class had 500 too! Twinnzies. Some people in upstate NY graduate with like 30 people..I couldn’t even imagine. That is too close.

  4. Laura @ LauraLikesDesign May 28, 2011 at 11:22 pm #

    My class was super small since I was homeschooled and only knew a few people out of the whole class since most of us didn’t meet until about a month before…haha.

    Our color was green!

    I love salads with strawberries and/or other fruit on them! So refreshing!

  5. yourdailygrace May 30, 2011 at 9:04 am #

    We had almost 800 in our graduating class! So I too saw some very unfamiliar faces! It was weird going to my brother’s graduation in his high school gym for 160 kids! Mine was in the Ocean Center-which is a concert and sports venue and it took way way longer than his! Our colors are orange, black, and white but we all just worse black cap and gowns. I always wished that we could wear white or something..

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy May 30, 2011 at 11:58 am #

      800! Wow, that is a lot of students! Yeah, I liked that the guys wore purple and the girls wore white…although black is a nice neutral color too!

Leave a Reply

